Memorial Day Block Party Fruit Flag And More Fun Food Ideas

We have our annual Memorial Day Block Party coming up this weekend to kick off summer but also to remember those who have given their lives for our country. There will be a taco truck and all the neighbors bring different appetizers, sides, desserts and drinks. We have lots of families that live on our block, with lots of kids. It’s always a great time, and nice to catch up since everyone is so busy.

I’m going to set up a fun table with the food that we are going to bring. I want to keep it festive and will keep to a patriotic theme (think 4th of July). I’m going to look for a red, white and blue tablecloth and am thinking about making this simple floral arrangement…

patriotic-flower-centerpieces

Last 4th of July I made this Fruit Flag that was a big hit, so I’m going to make it for this weekend. All you have to do is wash the fruit and put it together, doesn’t get any easier than that.

It’s so pretty, I just love it. Find the complete directions on my post here, along with some other patriotic food ideas.

photo 5 copy

photo 4 copy

I’m also making these veggie cups. I’m just going to cut up the veggies and put a little Ranch Dressing in the bottom of each cup, you could also use hummus. I really like this for outdoor eating, so easy to hold. I have a feeling I’m going to be making a lot of these for the pool this summer.

veggies+in+dip

My family always loves onion dip and chips for all festive occasions. I buy the Lipton’s Dry Onion Soup mix and follow the directions on the package, basically you just add the Onion Soup Mix to Sour Cream. To be honest we are addicted to this and love the excuse to be able to eat it. I’ll serve this with potato chips and bar-be-que chips.

gro_lipton_recipe_s_01_z-2

 I’ve made these candy dipped cookies for Valentine’s Day, find the directions from my post here,

photo-3-copy-21

 so I think I’ll make them to look like the ones pictured below with the red, white, and blue sprinkles. They make such a pretty display and taste yummy too!

50dbf702397a443c84f8cf722afd406a

I’ll bring lots of bottled water and some drinks, I’m thinking Orangina (my daughters love this) and Root Beer (another favorite). We never have anything other than water, juice and rice milk in our refrigerator, we save these drinks for special occasions and believe me there are plenty of special occasions.

img-orangina-group-shot_12090883785

I’ll do a follow-up with our table set up. Hope you all have a fun and safe Memorial Day weekend.

photo 2

3 thoughts on “Memorial Day Block Party Fruit Flag And More Fun Food Ideas

Leave a comment