The Cookbook Series with “Make It Ahead” by Ina Garten – Part 2: Parmesan Chive Smashed Potatoes

fullsizerender-copy-2

fullsizerender-copy

Welcome to my second installment of the cookbook series for Ina Garten’s “Make It Ahead” cookbook for Part 1: Blueberry Bran Muffins go here. This week I’m sharing Ina’s recipe for Parmesan Chive Smashed Potatoes. This recipe was very easy to make and was so tasty, there are a few changes I made though. I know what you’re thinking, how dare I change a thing about this recipe, but hang in there and see what I’m talking about. You know I love the barefoot contesssa.

Ingredients for this recipe: Yukon Gold and red new potatoes, Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, good olive oil, freshly grated Parmesan cheese, fresh chives and Fleur de sel or sea salt.

I only had red potatoes so that’s what I used, I also used Pecorino Romano instead of Parmesan and I had the Fleur de sel which I bought from Trader Joe’s (I like the pretty container). Because I used the Pecorino Romano which is already a salty cheese the Fleur de sel was too salty with the recipe. On the first try of this recipe, it was just too salty tasting but when I made it again it was perfect. I didn’t have the Parmesan and I thought the Pecorino would be interchangeable but alas, it was much saltier. I would suggest if using the Parmesan that you follow her directions precisely and see what you think about the saltiness.

img_6132 img_6131

Both times I made this, I doubled the recipe. We only eat veggies, no meat, so this was the main course of the meal, I just doubled it and made it in 2 batches.

First I scrubbed and boiled the potatoes…

img_6130

While they were boiling I grated the cheese…

img_6134

and cut the chives…

fullsizerender

Β When the potatoes were tender, I drained them and put them on a sheet pan (2 in my case because I doubled the recipe).

With a metal measuring cup I pressed the potatoes until they were about 1/2″ thick. The first time I pressed them a bit too thin and it made it trickier to add the oil and seasoning (again, since my cheese was already salty I only sprinkled some sea salt and fresh pepper and that tasted great).

img_6143

img_6149

First round of pressing…

img_6150

The second time I tried the recipe I only pressed them just enough so that they would open and that worked out better. After you add the oil and the seasoning, move the potatoes around the baking sheet to distribute the oil and then flip them over so they get the oil and seasoning on both sides. This is much easier if you don’t over press them, use a spatula to flip if you need to.

Second and better round of pressing…

img_6230

Roast the potatoes for 25-30 minutes, turning once, until the skins have become nicely browned.

Sprinkle the potatoes with the cheese and roast for another 2-3 minutes. Sprinkle the potatoes with chives and fleur de sel and serve hot. This last amount of salt was just to salty for us, so the second time I made these I just left it off.

img_6235

img_6240

I served them for dinner with steamed broccoli and salad. It was so delicious. For dessert we had chocolate covered strawberries, which as you can see from the photo didn’t turn out very well but they still tasted great (I don’t usually have a problem with them, not sure what happened).

img_2879

img_0815

They also saved nicely and I had them the next day for breakfast with a sunny side egg on top and some left over steamed broccoli on the side and it was wonderful.

img_6210

img_6245

Printable recipe to follow.

fullsizerender-copy-3

img_6251

PARMESAN CHIVE SMASHED POTATOES RECIPE…

Parmesan Chive Smashed Potatoes

  • Servings: 4-6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

fullsizerender-copy-2

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound mixed small Yukon Gold and red new potatoes, scrubbed
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 3 tablespoons good olive oil
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh chives
  • Fleur de sel or sea salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Place the potatoes and 1 tablespoon salt in a large saucepan and add enough water to cover the potatoes. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer for 17 to 20 minutes, until the potatoes are tender when pierced with a skewer. Drain the potatoes and place on a sheet pan. with a potato masher or metal measuring cup, press each potato until it’s about 1/2 inch thick (they will be messy). Toss the potatoes with the olive oil, 1 teaspoon salt, and 3/4 teaspoon pepper.

Roast the potatoes for 25 to 30 minutes, turning once, until the skins have become nicely browned. Sprinkle the potatoes with the Parmesan cheese and roast for another 2 to 3 minutes, just until the cheese melts. Sprinkle the potatoes with the chives and fleur de sel and serve hot.

MAKE IT AHEAD PLAN: Boil the potatoes and smash them on the sheet pan. Roast the potatoes and finish the recipe before serving.

Recipe by Ina Garten from the Make It Ahead cookbook.

If I haven’t mentioned it yet, the nice thing about this cookbook is all the recipe can be prepared ahead of time which is so nice if you have a busy schedule or are having a dinner party. This recipe is definitely a keeper. I loved the flavor, that it was so easy to make, that it saved nicely and it looked so lovely on the plate. If you give it a try, let me know what you think in the comments section.

Thanks for stopping by the blog and come back next week for another recipe from this cookbook.

photo 3

4 thoughts on “The Cookbook Series with “Make It Ahead” by Ina Garten – Part 2: Parmesan Chive Smashed Potatoes

Leave a Reply

