Jennifer Aniston and I Love This Soup

img_5628

I find some of my best recipes in magazines. This vegetable soup recipe I found in my House Beautiful magazine, I can’t tell you the year because I cut out the page and there isn’t a date on it. The Family Chef Cookbook is written by two sisters Jewel and Jill Elmore and Jennifer Aniston wrote the foreword: here’s part of it:

“Jewels changed the way I see a kitchen from a place to store PowerBars (my once-upon-a-time alternative to all food groups!) to a sanctuary that has become the most important room in the house.”

Well, if Jennifer Aniston likes their food then I was gonna give it a try, actually the recipe for “Jewels’ Favorite Soup Jill Makes” looked really easy and the pictures made it look yummy. I’m always on the lookout for vegan and/or vegetarian recipes that have lots of protein and this has cannellini beans which I really like. The bonus is it’s gluten free so it’s one meal that meets all my families nutritional needs.

This soup is not only easy to make, but it has the most wonderful flavor to it and appeals to all the senses: it tastes so good that every part of your tongue will have a party, it smells glorious and the aroma captivates you and makes you start to salivate, your eyes will enjoy the bright colors from the tomatoes, celery, beans and parsley. I am not overemphasizing how good this is. Every time I make it my family comes running to see what I’m cooking. I love that I can make it ahead of time because it only gets richer and thicker.

My family loves this recipe so much and I’ve meant to buy the cookbook over the years but haven’t. I went to Amazon and found that you can still buy it, there are some new editions still for sale but also lots of used editions for super low prices. For holiday’s I’ve been buying my girls our favorite cookbooks so that they will have the recipe’s they grew up with. I’m so disappointed that I don’t have many family recipes that my parents made when I was growing up. I wish I would have learned more from them. I don’t want to make that mistake with my girls so I bought one for each of them for Christmas and one for myself. To buy The Family Chef cook book go here.

The original recipe I got out of House Beautiful magazine.

img_5583

JEWELS’ FAVORITE SOUP JILL MAKES

Ingredients: 3 15-oz cans cannellini beans, 6 cups vegetable stock, 2 cloves garlic, 2 tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil, 1 medium onion, 2 ribs celery, 4 ripe tomatoes, 1 tsp. sea salt, 1/4 cup fresh parsley, 1 cup Parmesan cheese (omit cheese to keep it vegan)

fullsizerender

Prep all veggies before hand…

cut tomatoes…

img_5595

cut celery and onions…

fullsizerender-copy

Slice parsley…

img_5598

All the bright colors are so gorgeous, you know this is so healthy.

Cook beans, stock and garlic…

img_5593img_5592

Sautรฉ onion and celery…

img_5601

Add tomatoes and salt…

img_5604

img_5608

Add vegetable mixture and parsley to beans…

img_5613

img_5617

That’s it…so easy.

Garnish with Parmesan and fresh parsley…

img_5629

To print the recipe and full directions go here.

img_5626

img_5648

img_5646

Serve with some fresh french bread and butter. Have the leftovers the next day with a delicious veggie sandwich.

fullsizerender-copy-2

Bowls from Homegoods, bread board from One Kings Lane, flatware from Target and kitchen towel from IKEA.

img_5635

img_5634

Hope you give this recipe a try because it is really wonderful. You can get the cookbook used for a song and would be so worth it just for this one recipe. Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear.

photo 3

2 thoughts on “Jennifer Aniston and I Love This Soup

Leave a Reply

