Roasted Zucchini and Yellow Squash and Our Remodel Update

FullSizeRender copy 8

In case you haven’t noticed I’m a BIG veggie fan. I eat as many of them as I can. One of my favorite ways to prepare many vegetables including: broccoli, cauliflower, potatoes, green beans and many more, is to roast them. It’s so simple to do and I love that almost sweet flavor, in juxtaposition to the bit of charred taste, that you only get from roasting them. It’s also something I like to do when I’m just too tired to do much cooking but want something healthy. Chop them up and throw them in the oven and wait, it doesn’t get easier than that.

FullSizeRender copy 9

As mentioned, although I’ve roasted many different varieties of vegetables I have never tried zucchini or yellow squash. I’ve prepared these many other ways, I just never really considered roasting them. To be honest I was cleaning out the refrigerator so I could go do my weekly grocery shopping. I like to have my refrigerator and pantry all cleaned out and organized so when I get home I can just put everything away quickly and neatly (I know, there I go again, so compulsive sometimes). Just so you know, I think Felix Unger would have been a great roommate (I’ve probably lost some of you on that one due to age but look it up and then you’ll laugh). Anyway, I saw that I had some zucchini and squash that I didn’t want to go bad so I looked up how to roast them because I thought they could cook while I kept organizing.

They turned out so delicious, really lovely flavor and you could easily mix them together to serve too. They are great as a side dish, or served over rice or pasta. I just ate them plain by themselves because they were so good. I had some left over and had them the next day for breakfast. I just warmed them up and put two crispy fried eggs on top, oh my goodness it was so delicious. I wish I would have taken a picture but I was running off to church and didn’t have time. Give it a try though, great way to start the day.

I buy this package of organic zucchini and yellow squash from Costco whenever they have it.

FullSizeRender copy 4

First I cut up 2Β  zucchini into equal pieces. I like to slice it in half down the middle and then slice the pieces to get these nice half moon shapes.

FullSizeRender copy

I put them on a baking sheet and drizzled with olive oil (a little goes a long way) and sprinkled with sea salt and pepper from a pepper grinder to taste.

FullSizeRender copy 2

With my hands I mixed to distribute oil and seasoning.

FullSizeRender copy 3

In a preheated 425 degree oven I roasted them for 25 minutes. The recipe I looked up said to cook 10 minutes but I like mine to have a nice brown side to them for that really yummy roasted taste. Start checking them at about 15 minutes to see what you prefer.

FullSizeRender copy 7

IMG_5333

Love that beautiful brown caramelized side.

IMG_5334

While they were cooking I prepared the yellow squash exactly the same way. By the way, I miss my second oven so much. It’s been broken for over a year and although we’ve looked to replace it, we will probably get all knew appliance and that will mean starting on the kitchen remodel and I’m not sure when the best time will be for that. I do know, I would rather not do another big family Christmas without that second oven, so I guess we’ll have to see. Due to being down to one oven it meant one batch at a time to roast the veggies.

Slice…

FullSizeRender copy 5

Drizzle with olive oil and seasoning and mix…

FullSizeRender copy 6

Perfectly roasted…

IMG_5341

So that’s it, super delicious and quick and easy.

IMG_5336

IMG_5346

Now for a little home remodel update. It’s been a bit slow going (insert sad face emoji here). We had to get the palm trees in our front yard trimmed. My husband’s been doing it for years but they’ve just gotten too tall and big so we had to hire it out. We have three of them and it cost $250.00. It’s one of those things that you wish you didn’t have to pay for because I could think of many more things I’d want to do with the money, but what’s ya gonna do, right?!

IMG_5354

The palm trees with their new haircuts. Wasn’t the sky beautiful on Saturday?!

IMG_5360

We also picked up our new door for my office. This is the first time we’ve ordered a custom door and thankfully it looks like our measurements are spot on, my husband spent most of the weekend painting it, so far he only got the primer on. He used our paint sprayer which seems to be working out well. Gosh that sounds like he didn’t get much done, but this was in between all the other weekly things we have to do just to keep up our home.

Our makeshift painting area in our master bedroom retreat…

IMG_5364

I also worked on organizing my office because I’m so ready to show you the reveal. It’s all the odds and ends that take so long but at least the main part of the office is done (see post here).

I thought this summer that I would have more time to work on the house and my blog with my girls out of school but somehow it actually gave me less time. My youngest Skye is back in school and my older daughter Sage leaves for college in a few weeks. The end of summer always makes me a bit sad especially with it being Skye’s senior year in high school and Sage going away. I’m so proud of both of them though, I’m a lucky mommy with those two.

So, I think we’re all caught up now. Hope you’re still enjoying your summer.

photo 3

Leave a Reply

