Refreshing Our Backyard For Summer…Part 5

Let’s get caught up on my backyard refresh. We left off with the patio chairs painted, but the table still needed to be painted (Part 4). We finally got that done, as the weather was cooperating, not so windy, so we rushed to paint it. It’s funny, it’s either been windier than usual or we just don’t notice the breeze that goes on around here all the time. I’m not complaining, it’s that nice ocean breeze that keeps our weather so perfect, it’s just not conducive to spray painting.

Before photos.

IMG_3536

The Mister had to MacGyver this part of the table but you can’t even see it, now that it’sย  done and it works fine.

IMG_3870

Cleaned and then primed the table with this from Home Depot…

IMG_3102

IMG_4083

All primed…

IMG_4089

Painted it this color from Home Depot…

IMG_3535

Love it and looks so great with the yellow bistro set and mint green Adirondack chairs.

IMG_4204

IMG_4202

IMG_4205

We also had to paint the new base for the umbrella white, it’s all about the details.

IMG_4086

Then just as we felt we were cruising along again on this project we hit a little snag. We get lots of bunnies in our yard and they eat all the flowers and grass so we had a green plastic mesh fence we put up to get them to stay out, but they’re back.

So a new project we had not anticipated was started before the bunnies could cause too much damage.

Old fence which we picked because it was green and not obtrusive to the yard.

IMG_3864

IMG_3862

But the bunnies outsmarted us and bit right through it, the little stinkers.

IMG_3865

So off came the old fence.

IMG_3874

And in went the new wire fence that is supposed to be bunny proof from Lowe’s.

IMG_3875

IMG_3876

So there went that weekend, but that’s how home improvements go sometimes. We were happy it was done and now we could get on with more aesthetically pleasing projects.

Until Monday morning rolled around and who do I see nibbling away at my garden…

IMG_4034

Yep, the bunnies are back (please overlook the horrible garden, next on the list). I tried to nicely run him off and realized he couldn’t get out, guess he was in our yard when we put up the fence. Our daughter Skye found that rather hilarious and decided to Snapchat this…

IMG_4036

Sometimes you just gotta laugh!!!

ย Okay, so we are back on track. Well, not exactly, then another unforeseen and rather unfortunate problem occurred. Remember this adorable pink and white stripped umbrella that started this whole backyard refresh and was the starting point to the whole design, well, it didn’t fit right and looked rather ridiculous: too small and had a weird long pole, it was just all kinds of wrong. I was slightly devastated. I really loved that umbrella.

screen-shot-2016-05-18-at-5-57-53-pm

Off I went to search for another umbrella. If there was plenty of $$$ it wouldn’t be a problem but I’m on a tight budget for this project. I searched and searched and had no luck at all finding another similar umbrella. The color scheme was set and I really wanted pink but I ended up getting mint green umbrellas. They look good and were a great price but the poles were black and I needed white. Yet another spray painting project was in the works.

New umbrellas are from Target (couldn’t find it online to link, but I got it at my local Target).

ย IMG_4418

Painted the pole white to go with the painted umbrella stands.

IMG_4531

Painted all white. Arrows are pointing to the next project: replanting all of that area, only keeping my favorite white iceberg roses. Note the plastic on the lawn for further comment.

IMG_4534

All done and looking good…

IMG_4537

A little glimpse of our summer life: surfboards, wetsuits and penny boards and my sweet little lemon tree in the back.

IMG_4454

IMG_4206

All the floaties have been blown up and look so adorable in the pool, adding lots more color and loads of fun for my family.

IMG_4320

My daughters have always loved to jump in the pool after a day at the beach.

IMG_4308

Even though we have a built in gas bar-be-que, my husband and I still prefer using a good old fashioned bar-be-que using charcoal, it just gives the food such nice flavor. We bought a new one at Costco. It’s just the right size and has a real retro vibe to it which goes great with the refresh.

IMG_4414

IMG_4416

As with any garden we are doing plenty of planting and replanting. As I’ve said before, you have to be in love with your garden because it is constant work but so worth it.

IMG_4085

FullSizeRender

My lemon tree is thriving. I’m going to have plenty of lemons soon…

IMG_4514

IMG_4515

So it my orange tree…

IMG_4516

But oh no, one more sidetrack, when we sprayed the umbrellas we had plastic down on the grass and it was pretty hot, so we were left with this burnt grass…

IMG_4567

Hopefully, we won’t have to replace it, my husband has mad lawn skills, we always have a beautiful lawn, so hopefully he can work some magic here.

Again, you gotta laugh!!!

That gets you all caught up, if you’d like to see Part 1 – 4 of this refresh just use the Search tool. We’ve done so much but there is still so much to do. My vision for this space is starting to really come together. I’ll be adding all the fun accessories and then I’ll be able to show some more completed pictures so you can see the transformation. Glad you’re following along, it keeps me motivated because this project is definitely going slow but steady.

Also, still working on my home office remodel, finding the last little odds and ends but it’s looking sooooooo great and I’m excited to have a proper work space. My guest bath has been completed since February and I know I owe you the reveal on that, I’m still looking for the final details but you’re gonna love it.

photo 3

Leave a Reply

