Finding Interior Design Inspiration from Balboa Island

I like to find design inspiration from many places. One way, is to take my camera out and just start shooting. This past Sunday, since my daughters were both home at the same time (miracle), we decided to have an impromptu family day and go to Balboa Island. It’s one of our favorite places to visit, my husband and I have been taking our daughters to Balboa their whole lives. It’s a lovely place to walk around and enjoy the beautiful homes and boats. You can take the ferry across the bay and go to the beach, ride the Ferris Wheel or go out to lunch. That’s exactly what we did and had such a lovely day, its low-key, relaxing and close to home. I brought my trusty Nikon with me and enjoyed seeing the world through the eyes of my lens. It gives me a different perspective and lets me see things I might have missed without it. This creative process always inspires me in my design choices and decisions. The architecture of the houses, the colors of the flowers, the boats calmly waiting for their next adventure, or the rippling water of the bay, stir up my imagination and the creative juices start to flow. I get home with a new zest for my home remodel and continue my growth in interior design.

This time with my family is priceless, there is nothing I love more than the time I spend with my girls and my husband. My daughters are young ladies now and this opportunity to be, just the four of us, may not happen for long. Although the idea of our family growing is a lovely thought, our little family will never be the same, and so I will cherish these moments. Since these outings are special to me it only enhances the inspiration that will reflect onto the creativity that leads me through my interior design process.

With that said, I’d love to share my photos and thoughts.

Taking the ferry across the bay is my favorite party of the day, it’s 5 minutes across the bay but it’s relaxing and fun. This view as your coming to the other side is the essence of summer with the water, palm trees and Ferris Wheel.

IMG_4197

Looking at things from different perspectives, like the angle of this shot.

DSC_3437 copy

More views of the same Ferris Wheel.

DSC_3455

I’m a big believer in putting your own photos into your interior designs for you home. It adds a personal touch and gives you lots of satisfaction and pride in your home. I’m an avid art lover, but I enjoy my own photos just as much.

DSC_3457

The view of the lovely homes that line the bay. How amazing to wake up to this view!!!

DSC_3458

DSC_3459

For my husband” the boat lover”, this shot is going to look great in his home office remodel that we will be starting in the near future.

DSC_3463

Try looking at things from different angles to get a unique perspective.

DSC_3466

Loving all the private docks.

DSC_3483

All of the photos shown, are original and have not been photoshopped or had a filter added in any way. I’m a big fan of natural photography, otherwise to me it seems like you’re cheating.

DSC_3468

DSC_3470

I absolutely love living in Southern California, and these photos are exactly why.

DSC_3471

Walking along the row of houses on the bay, there are plenty of gardens to enjoy. Really liked the flowers peeking through the miniature picket fence.

DSC_3472

DSC_3462

The colors on this fruit stand were so pretty and who doesn’t love a chocolate covered strawberry?!

DSC_3473

My love of  architecture runs a close second to my love of design. There are so many houses to enjoy along the main street lining the bay and also the many quaint side streets.

The many windows and clean lines of this house are beautiful.

DSC_3465

DSC_3481

So many homes with lovely little gardens, I was absolutely inspired.

DSC_3474

DSC_3475

I have a love for flower photography. I’m drawn to it and am moved by natures beautiful colors. The photo below is one of my favorites of the day.

DSC_3477

This brick walkway!!!!

DSC_3482

White fences get me every time. This home is so manicured and well-kept, really sweet.

DSC_3480

Such breathtaking views these homes have.

DSC_3485

Who wouldn’t want to live on a street named Turquoise Avenue?!  Notice the “no skateboarding” sign, it’s all over the area that I live, but I always hope someone will skateboard because it brings back so many memories of when I was a kid.

DSC_3487

DSC_3488

Lots more beautiful, bright, colorful gardens. I garden almost everyday, honestly I could fill up my home with flowers inside and out, I love them so.

DSC_3489

DSC_3490

This is one of the few homes that has a bit of a front yard. I would have so much fun making this  garden full of flowers.

DSC_3491

DSC_3493

Every single house, has adorable front doors and lots of potted flowers and plants. It is the cutest neighborhood.

DSC_3494

One of the side streets.

DSC_3495

This is definitely one of my favorite houses, it looks like it was dropped out of New Orleans and is kept so pristine. The large upper balcony and lower garden are heaven.

DSC_3496

The house also has an attached apartment on the side of the house that has its own cute entrance which I wish I would have gotten a picture of.

DSC_3498

This is one of the larger homes in the area.

DSC_3499

I like how they cut out large areas in the grass to add the flowers, really pretty.

DSC_3500

DSC_3501

Two perspectives of the same porch. See what a difference it makes just shooting horizontal or vertical.

DSC_3502

DSC_3504

More beautiful color.

DSC_3505

Lots of fun shopping.

DSC_3507

Capturing the town vibe.

Anyone see “Arrested Development”?

DSC_3509

This was right before Flag Day, so lots of American flags, which just added to the quaintness of this community.

DSC_3511

DSC_3443

I’m crazy about these beach shots. Lots of tourists, very different from the beaches in our community which are mostly full of locals and surfers.

DSC_3440

Last but not least, if there’s a candy store we’re going to find it. We can’t be at the beach without some salt water taffy.

DSC_3449

DSC_3450

Candy stores just bring out the kid in me!!!

DSC_3451

DSC_3452

When I was a kid it was a BIG deal to get candy cigarettes, we especially liked the ones with the gum. I know it’s not politically correct anymore to see a kid trying to smoke and I would never smoke because I think it’s gross, but it does bring back lots of memories.

So for nostalgia’s sake, here’s a picture of my mother, my four sisters and I (I’m the youngest with the mischievous smirk), and next to me is my sister Dinky puffing away on her candy cigarette. Ohhhhh, the 60’s!!! Missing in the photo is my younger brother, probably trying to get away from all the crazy women in the house.

12938163_216424268720406_5285540695459646600_n

As a designer, photographer, gardener and even for my love of cooking, days like these inspire me. The artist in me needs to me awakened and this is the way I do it. I’m looking forward to incorporating some of these new photos into my home remodel, I’ll also be selling prints soon, I’m hoping sometime this year or the beginning of next year. For more of my photography inspiration go to my post here, where we visited one of my favorite museums: the LACMA.

photo 3

One thought on “Finding Interior Design Inspiration from Balboa Island

Leave a Reply

