Refreshing Our Backyard For Summer…Part 4

Wow, four weeks into this project already, time flies. This week was tricky because we had more furniture to paint and every time we went outside to do it, it was too windy. So, progress was slow and to be honest my husband and I were feeling a bit weary. We go, go, go seven days a week and well, sometimes you gotta take a break. A break for us means we only got a few things done rather than our usual weekend warrior determination. My oldest daughter completed her sophomore year of college and then went directly on an eight-day trip to Boston and is now home and my youngest daughter has Prom today and finals next week and then she’ll be out for summer too. I really wanted to complete most of this project before they were both off for summer and luckily the major painting will be done, pool is done, but there will still be lots of gardening to do. But, as far as they’re concerned it will be done enough to enjoy the pool. So YAY!!!

If your just tuning into this little refresh of mine check out Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3.

Here’s what we got done this week…

My husband painted the larger table and chairs set. He started it before I had the chance to take “before” pictures. First, as he did with the bistro set, he primed all the chairs and then started to paint the first coat of color.

IMG_3425

IMG_3427

I picked this turquoise color to match the pool water.

The spray paint was purchased at Home Depot.

IMG_3534

IMG_3429

IMG_3440

Again, we placed plastic down on the grass that way we could mow it away if it missed the plastic and got on the grass.

IMG_3435

IMG_3436

IMG_3533

Two coats of color done. I’m loving the color, just what I wanted.

IMG_3439

The table that goes with the chairs, that we didn’t get to paint yet. Darn wind!!!

IMG_3537

IMG_3536

I had a cute little owl that I’ve had for a while and was purchased at Michaels. I decided to move it outdoors and give it a fresh coat of pink paint.

IMG_3433

IMG_3638

A little pop of pink.

IMG_3632

This project needed more that just paint, it also needed some new items. I bought these mint green Adirondack chairs at Home Depot you can find here. They’re a really pretty color and super comfy.

IMG_3633

The Adirondack chairs will stay on the deck area by the fire pit, which will be great for making s’mores and sun tanning.

IMG_3332

OK, so there’s a LOT of color going on and guess what, there is going to be more, but trust me, it’s gonna be great. It’s all coming together just as I was hoping.

Here are some of the other things I’ve purchased for this refresh.

I’m crazy about the patio umbrellas I got. The pink and white strips are awesome, I mean come on, they’re PINK!!!! I got these at Target, find them here.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 5.57.53 PM

This pink flamingo door mat is the perfect touch for the French doors. I got two of these at World Market, find them here.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 5.54.01 PM

I also purchased at World Market, two of these pineapple pillows. I love the cane print background (more on my love of cane print on a future post). You can find the pillows here and they’re on sale.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 5.54.56 PM

Since we swim and go to the beach almost all year, but of course even more in the summer, I like to keep lots of beach towels available. All of my towels are from Costco. Every year they get a nice supply at great prices and the best part is they are thick, plush and wash really well. These cuties are going to go perfectly with our fun, colorful, refreshed backyard.

IMG_3637

It wouldn’t be summer in our home without some fun pool floats. I got 2 of the swans from Amazon, find them here. Amazon had the best price (thanks to my friend Donna A. for telling me about that).

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 5.56.13 PM

And for my daughter Sage who is CRAZY about donuts I had to get 2 of these, also from Amazon. I did see them at Target also, for the same price, but go quick because they were selling fast.

Screen Shot 2016-05-18 at 5.56.37 PMI thought it was funny that One Kings Lane posted this picture on Instagram, have they been following my blog?! Looks familiar to me!!!

IMG_3331

I’m so excited to get this refresh done and wish I could work on it more than just the weekends. With each project I’m seeing my vision coming to life. It’s going to be a backyard that you must have fun in, in fact I dare anyone not to have fun in this backyard when I’m done with it. HaHa.

Thanks for stopping by and hope you keep up with this project. It’s a fun one.

photo 2

5 thoughts on “Refreshing Our Backyard For Summer…Part 4

Leave a Reply

