DIY Privacy Solution For Bathroom Windows

If you’ve been following along with my blog you’ll know that one of my first projects on my home’s remodel was the downstairs guest bath. Although it’s been done for a couple of months, I haven’t shown the reveal yet. I’m still working on the little details and one of them was the window that is located in the shower. It’s the only window in the bathroom so I didn’t want to cover it up with a window treatment since the bathroom needs all the light, but there was an issue of privacy. Now for the most part you probably couldn’t see in but I wouldn’t want anyone to feel uncomfortable while using it. I had our glass guy come out to give me an estimate and because it is a double pane window he quoted me around $400 to put in a new window with obscured glass. YIKES!!! That seemed pretty pricey to me for such a small window. I knew there had to be a better solution.

After researching I found you could put a sticky film over the window that would look like obscured class. I wasn’t convinced, it sounded kind of cheesy to me. After more and more searching I kept coming back to this idea.

So this weekend at Home Depot I picked up Artscape – Artwork For Your Windows.

IMG_3552

It was around $20 so I thought, let’s give it a try and if it doesn’t work no big deal. I picked the Texture Twelve as I wanted something unobtrusive.

Thankfully my husband got right on the project and am I glad he did. This was the easiest project and I think he probably spent only 20 minutes from start to finish and you know what…I love it!!! We found our solution for 20 bucks and it was incredibly easy to do. Yahoo, that hardly ever happens with a home remodel.

Here’s how easy this stuff is to put on.

IMG_3554

Here’s a couple of views of the window. It’s right in the shower and is pretty high on the wall, so as I said it’s not like anyone could really see in, but for comfort sake I wanted it done.

IMG_3553

After cleaning the glass, he measured each window pane so he could cut the film.

IMG_3550

Next he wet the glass liberally with soapy water.

IMG_3555

He removed the backing of the film and placed the film on the window pane. You can easily manipulate the film to place it properly.

Next he put more soapy water on the outside of the film and using the squeegee that comes in the kit, he pressed out any bubbles.

(this picture is actually with the second window because I forgot to take it when he did the first window)

IMG_3567

First window done and you can see the privacy it gives but still lets in plenty of light.

IMG_3562

IMG_3563

IMG_3564

And then the second window and voila…problem solved.

IMG_3569

IMG_3570

This shower rarely gets used so I think this should last a good long time, but even if it doesn’t for $20 we could replace it anytime. I can’t tell you how happy I am with this solution. It was so easy to do and gave me the exact look I was hoping for, in fact it really doesn’t look that much different than the clear glass, and lets in plenty of light.

Hope this helps you too. On to the next project.

photo 2

One thought on “DIY Privacy Solution For Bathroom Windows

Leave a Reply

