One Room Challenge Spring 2016 – Dimples and Tangles Reveal

The One Room Challenge is a wonderful event that takes place twice a year and is hosted by the blog Calling It Home for all the details go here. Basically 20 designers are given 6 weeks to complete an entire room remodel and blog their progress. It’s really fun to join along and if you’ve ever decorated a room, you’ll know that 6 weeks is a pretty fast turn around time.

Today I want to show you one of my favorite room transformations, by designer Jennifer Griffin on her blog Dimples and Tangles. Her powder room transformation is incredibly impressive. It doesn’t even look like it’s the same room. Let’s just get to it because you know what they say “A picture’s worth a thousand words”.

All photos from Dimples and Tangles.

The before photos…

powder+bath+before+3

Dark and dated.

powder+bath+before+4

To bright and modern.

The after photos…

powder bath reveal 2

Can you even believe this is the same space?!

The custom molding on the bottom half of the room is gorgeous. I’m thinking this might be a good idea for my daughters bathroom remodel. It would be time-consuming but so worth it and it’s just the kind of project that my husband loves.

powder bath reveal 5

The buffalo check print on the wall is hand painted, yep that’s what I said hand painted, using painters tape. I can’t even imagine how difficult that was to do, but what results!!!

powder bath reveal 3

powder bath reveal 6

You know I have a thing for colored doors (especially pink), so this just knocked my socks off and what a nice detail to accompany the mirror. Can we talk about the door handle, I would love to have those throughout my house. She also added the molding on the door. It’s amazing to me how molding can take a plain door and make it look custom.

powder bath reveal 11

The Lamps Plus wall scones are a beautiful touch and Jennifer added the black ribbon trim. It’s all in the details!!!

powder bath reveal 10

When I was doing my own guest bath remodel,  I looked all over for gold and lucite fixtures and couldn’t find any I liked, I ended up going with some others that I like equally as well, but the ones used in this bathroom are exactly what I had in mind (by the way I know I owe my readers my own guest bath reveal and I promise it’s coming soon). I plan on getting these for our other guest room remodel. Thanks to Jennifer for finding them for me.

powder bath reveal 12

Look at all the angles of this room that Jennifer had to work with…very challenging!!!

powder bath reveal 8

For my love of blue and white vases, this touch is perfect.

powder bath reveal 13

I really love the color combinations in this room. Every detail is well thought out and complementary of each other, even the pop of red in the flowers is pure perfection.

powder bath reveal 16

This is a teeny tiny bathroom but it packs a mighty punch.

powder bath reveal 19

The before and after photos side by side really shows the transformation of this room. This is why I love interior design so much, it’s like magic.

powder bath reveal b&a

For all details please go to Jennifer’s blog (linked above). And Jennifer, can I just say bravo girl, very impressive.

I’ll be bringing some more one room challenges to the blog. It’s one of my favorite design inspirations.

Have a great weekend.

photo 2

Leave a Reply

