Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

IMG_3286

In case you haven’t noticed, I do a lot of cooking and baking for my sweet little family. I’m always trying new recipes but this one I came upon quite by accident. I was going to make some Snickerdoodles, which is a family favorite, but did not have one of the ingredients. I had just bought a bag of Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Rolled Oats and thought maybe I could make oatmeal cookies with it and then I could enjoy them too. Since I’m the only gluten free person in my household I don’t always get to eat the yummy stuff I bake. On the back of the bag was a recipe for Oatmeal cookies that I thought looked good, so I gave it a try. Boy, am Iย  glad I did. These cookies are soooooooo yummy!!! I’ve never really had a cookie like this before, it’s like an Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie but then you add some peanut butter and some walnuts and that little twist creates a cookie that is so delicious and tasty. Right out of the oven they are unbelievable, the chocolate chips are warm and melted, the oatmeal is soft, the peanut flavor is just right and then the crunch from the walnuts: heavenly. Gluten free or not these cookies are totally worth a try.

Here are the Trader Joe’s Rolled Oats that you’ll need.

FullSizeRender copy 3

On the back of the bag is the recipe but I’ll have the recipe for you to print at the end of this post.

FullSizeRender copy 4

The recipe is very easy to follow especially when I used my my pink Kitchen Aid mixer, I just love that thing.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and lightly grease your cookie sheet.

In a large bowl, combine sugar, brown sugar and butter and beat until creamy. Start slow with the beating otherwise it will get all over the place because it’s a lot of dry ingredients.

IMG_3235

IMG_3237

Add eggs, vanilla and baking soda and mix well.

IMG_3240

Add peanut butter and mix well

IMG_3245 IMG_3248

Stir in oats, chocolate chips and nuts.

IMG_3250

IMG_3253

The batter will look a little dry but that’s okay, it suppose to.

IMG_3254

After mixing, I always hand mix the batter to make sure I get all the ingredients from the bottom of the bowl.

This is exactly the consistency you’ll be looking for.

IMG_3259

Place a teaspoon full of dough about 2 inches apart on a lightly greased cookie sheet.

FullSizeRender

IMG_3267

FullSizeRender copy

Bake 10 – 12 minutes until lightly brown around the edges.

Fresh out of the oven.

IMG_3269

IMG_3272

Put them on a rack to cool, but make sure you try a few when they’re warm because they are amazing. Makes approximately 48 cookies.

IMG_3275

IMG_3280

IMG_3282

These cookies are such a treat if you have to eat gluten free. I really miss eating some of the cookies that I make so this is such a great find, gluten free or not they are wonderful.

Store them in an air tight container and they’ll last for days, unless you eat them sooner and believe me you will.

IMG_3299

Nothing like cookies and milk.

IMG_3290

FullSizeRender copy 6

FullSizeRender copy 5

IMG_3292

ย 

Trader Joe's Gluten Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

IMG_3292

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3 cups Trader Joe’s Rolled Oats
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 6 oz. chocolate chips
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup peanut butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a large bowl, combine sugar, brown sugar, and butter and beat until creamy. Add eggs, vanilla and baking soda and mix well. Add peanut better and mix well. Stir in oats, chocolate chips and nuts. Place each teaspoon full of dough about 2 inches apart on a lightly greased cookie sheet. Bake 10 -12 minutes until lightly brown around the edges. Makes approximately 48 cookies.

photo 2

6 thoughts on “Trader Joe’s Gluten Free Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Susan Agostinelli says:

    I forgot to save my empty bag of TJ oats and nearly panicked! Found your beautiful website, and you my dear, saved my marriage! Lol. They’re my husbands favorite, and everyone we know was crazy for them when I made them. What a bonus with your amazing photos. Whew! Now I can get to baking. Love Trader Joe’s and you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Avenue of Joy says:

      So glad I was able to help. They are my favorite too, you don’t even know they are gluten free. Thanks for the wonderful comment, YOU MADE MY DAY!!! I’ll be relaunching my site soon, so look for lots more yummy recipes to come. โค

      Like

Leave a Reply

