Everything You Need To Know About Wainscoting

I’m a bit late getting this blog entry posted, I had some computer issues but not for lack of trying. This is a good one too, so I don’t want you to miss out. My husband and I have been very successful in adding baseboards and crown molding (nightmare, but my genius husband figured it out) to our home but never wainscoting. So here we go, prepping and learning to get started on this next project.

Wainscoting comes in many styles and can add architectural interest to any space. It’s worth the investment because not only does it look great but can add value to your home. This is a DIY project that my husband and I have not taken on as yet, but we plan to do so with his new home office. I was thrilled to find this website wainscotingamerica.comIt has everything you need to know about wainscoting.

This website is packed with information, videos and has a design system to help you with your measurements. I hit the jackpot with this website. Just what we need to get this home office project started.

They have a design system to help you get your project just right, find that here.

wainscoting design system

For my husbands office we’re looking to do a shaker style wainscoting about 3/4 of the way up the wall and then wall paper the rest in grass cloth. The woodwork I want to paint in a really dark blue/black color and the grass cloth wallpaper in a lighter shade, to be determined. I want it to have a modern look.

Here is some of my inspiration photos for this room…

IMG_8548

via Chris Loves Julia

 

IMG_1037_thumb

via Thrifty Decor Chick

Staircase-Wainscoting.-Classic-white-Staircase-Wainscoting.-Foyer-Staircase-Wainscoting.-StaircaseWainscoting-foyerWainscoting-StaircaseFoyerWainscoting-Staircase-Wainscoting-Peter-Cadoux-Architects.

via Peter Cadoux Architects

 

0d5a1baf2727fcb6b904aeef504761af

site unknown

 

David-Scott-Interiors3

via David Scott Interiors

 

HomeDepot_DIYChallenge_DesertDomicile_StaggeredWaincotingWall_1_zps1340f101

via Desert Domicile

All-in-white-lulu-klein

via Lulu Klein

 

Custom-wainscoting-is-inexpensive-to-create-with-drywall-scraps.-Add-a-layer-detail-to-finish-off-the-look-of-the-staircase.

via message note

 

Home-Office-Makeover-Reveal

via Life On Virginia Street

 

Interior-decorating-things

via Interior Decorating Things

 

via Little Green

via Little Green

Back to working on my home office project so I finish and get started on my husband’s home office.

 photo 3

Leave a Reply

