Finding Interior Design Inspiration at the LACMA

DSC_0776

I’m always looking for ways to get inspiration to enhance my Interior Design skills. One of the ways I do that, is to go to museums. Over the Christmas break my family went to one of my favorite’s the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA). It never disappoints. The buildings themselves are beautiful and the outdoor Urban Lights displays is one of my favorites (you’ve probably seen it in a movie or two). My husband and I had bought our daughters Nikon 5500 cameras for Christmas and they wanted a chance to use them. This was a great way to spark creativity, inspiration and just have a fun family day.

Here are some photos that have been inspiring me. As you look through them notice the different times of day for lighting, different angels for perspective and hopefully I’ve captured the energy that places like this ignite.

The Urban Lights display…

DSC_0774

photo copy 2

My daughter Sage…

DSC_0719

Same shot, different depths of field.

DSC_0720

DSC_0722

DSC_0742

My daughter Skye…

DSC_0749

DSC_0779

Seeing my daughters being creative and enjoying the day was incredibly inspirational to me. It filled my heart with happiness and that is always a good way to start those creative juices flowing.

Not only did they use their Nikon’s but they also used their iphones with a selfie stick. They got some incredible shots that way. It’s amazing to see 3 different people take pictures of the same thing and all the pictures show a unique perspective that is as unique as the person taking them.

DSC_0791

Even the simplest of things are interesting, so don’t forget to look down.

DSC_0790

Loving the shadows here…

DSC_0758

 The building itself is beautiful.

DSC_0808

DSC_0802

This miniature city with it’s busy highway really conveyed the hustle and bustle that is our daily lives, that’s exactly why sometimes we need to slow down and spend some family time looking at beautiful things.

That’s LA traffic right there…

DSC_0805

DSC_0804

Indoor light display…

DSC_0799

DSC_0800

Art made from found objects…

DSC_0811

DSC_0812

Really…I can’t tell the joy it brings to my heart to see my daughters being budding photographers and appreciating the beauty that artists create.

DSC_0813

DSC_0815

A closer look at this piece…

DSC_0816

DSC_0817

This room was filled with different movies projecting on the walls so if you walked in, you sort of became a part of them. We got some interesting shots in here, the shadows made by the people enhanced the experience of the room

DSC_0818

DSC_0823

This big white sculpture was one of my favorites. You’d have to see it in person to really get the full effect but it really captivated me.

DSC_0826

The Urban Lights again, but this time as the sun was setting and the lights turned on. Gorgeous!!!

DSC_0827

DSC_0837

DSC_0839

DSC_0840

It was a lovely day, if you are interested here is the official link to the LACMA.

Have a great Monday.

photo 2

One thought on “Finding Interior Design Inspiration at the LACMA

Leave a Reply

