Italian Roasted Veggies

DSC_0869

I shop at Trader Joe’s at least once a week and the employee’s there are always so helpful. On more than one occasion, when I’ve been checking out, an employee will offer up a recipe regarding something I am buying. I’ve gotten many great recipes that way. Check out these recipes…

Chili Cheese Bake

Super Bowl Super Soup

Poor Man’s Caviar

 Last week, when I was checking out, I was buying some green beans that I was planning on roasting. I love roasting veggies and one of the women checking me out suggested roasting some teeny tiny potatoes and mushrooms with it. She told me how she did it and it sounded great. So I went home and came up with this recipe. It’s a wonderful side dish or for my vegetarians, a great main dish. I like that it is hearty and was a good dish for the winter. It’s super easy with lots of flavor.

Ingredients…

1 lb green beans, 8 oz mushrooms (any variety), 1 lb teeny tiny potatoes (or any variety), 1/2 tbsp. Olive Oil, grated Parmesan & Romano cheese, 1/2 tsp. each of Basil, Oregano, Thyme, and Salt and Pepper to taste. As you can see, I pointed out my cute marble salt and pepper holders which I got from One Kings Lane, I looked but they don’t have them anymore but I just love them. They did have something similar here. Not pictured 1/2 tbsp. butter.

DSC_0849

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (you don’t have to do this but it makes cleaning up a breeze).

Put a large pot full of water on the stove to boil the potatoes. As the water is heating up, clean the potatoes and cut in half to make nice bite size pieces.

DSC_0850

DSC_0851

Boil the potatoes for 15 minutes, you just want to cook them slightly. While they are cooking wash the mushrooms and greens beans. Cut the mushrooms into halves or quarters for larger pieces, and break the green beans in half.

When the potatoes are done, strain and put all the veggies into a large bowl.

DSC_0853

Add 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil and 1/2 teaspoon each of basil, oregano and thyme. Salt and pepper to taste.

Mix all the ingredients together to coat…

DSC_0855

Lay all the seasoned veggies on the parchment lined baking sheet…

DSC_0879

DSC_0884

I made two batches of these and the first time I did not line the baking sheet…

DSC_0859

And this was what I had to clean up…

DSC_0887

I got it clean but it was much easier with the parchment paper.

Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes, then pull them out mix them a bit and sprinkle on as much as the Parmesan & Romano cheese as you would like. I sprinkled it evenly over the top.

DSC_0861

Put back in the oven and bake for another 15 minutes…

DSC_0863

They come out perfectly roasted with the cheese having some crunchy parts to it. I then added 1/2 tablespoon butter and mixed it in. You don’t have to do this but I think it added a nice flavor.

I served it with a dollop of sour cream on top.

DSC_0864

It was so delicious, I ate it all on it’s own, but you could serve it with a nice salad and/or some roasted chicken.

DSC_0869

My family really loved it, the seasoning and cheese gave it an Italian flair and the colors were so pretty too.

DSC_0875

Italian Roasted Veggies

  • Time: 30 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. green beans
  • 1 lb. teeny tiny potatoes (or any variety)
  • 8 0z. mushrooms (any variety)
  • 1/2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. basil
  • 1/2 tsp. oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • grated Parmesan & Romano cheese
  • 1/2 tbsp. butter

Directions:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Put a large pot of water on the stove to boil for potatoes. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. While water is boiling, wash the potatoes and cut in half to make nice bite size pieces. Boil for 15 minutes until just slightly cooked. While potatoes are boiling wash the mushrooms and green beans. Cut the mushrooms into half or quartered pieces and break the green beans in half. When the potatoes are done, strain and put into a large mixing bowl. Add mushroom and green beans, 1/2 tbsp. olive oil, and 1/2 tsp each of basil, oregano, thyme, salt and pepper to taste and mix all ingredients together. Layout on baking sheet and cook in preheated oven for 15 minutes. Pull out of oven, mix a bit and sprinkle veggies evenly with cheese mixture (use as little or as much as you would like). Bake for another 15 minutes. When done mix roasted veggies with 1/2 tbsp. butter and serve. You can add a dollop of sour cream if you would like.

I made 2 batches of this so I would have some leftovers. It reheated really well. I had it for breakfast by heating it up in a frying pan and scrambling some eggs with it and melted some cheddar cheese on top. Delish!!!

Give it a try and let me know what you think.

photo 2

2 thoughts on “Italian Roasted Veggies

Leave a Reply

