Beautiful Budget Friendly Table Settings

I love a nicely set table. Even if your serving Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches, it just tastes better when you’re sitting at a beautifully set table. I made it a priority as my daughters were growing up to sit down for meals. I tried for the most part to always use cloth napkins, placemats, and always turned off the TV and played music in the background, usually jazz.

You don’t have to break the bank to do this. I’ve found some great deals and I mean rock bottom prices, on napkins, napkin rings and placemats, you just have to know where to look. Here’s some of my finds.

Pier One Imports is a great place to find inexpensive, quality and beautiful table accessories. Last year and this year, right after Christmas I look into the section where they sell napkins and placemats and have found some beauties.

This year I found these gorgeous and colorful suzani inspired cloth napkins that I just love. Here’s the best part they were $3.95 a piece and I got them on clearance for 98 cents. You heard that right for under a dollar and they’re beautiful.

Β photo 1 copy

I also got some beautiful yellow napkins that have a pretty yellow ombre fringe. They were selling for $19.95 for 4 and I got them on clearance for $7.98. I try and always buy table accessories in sets of 12 just so I have enough, it’s always good to have extra.

Here’s a few ways to use these napkins for simple everyday day settings. Nothing fancy but still makes your table special.

This is all the table pieces I will be using for the following pictures. See how everything can be mixed and matched…

2 placemats from Target that I already had and both were purchased on sale. Clear water glass (wine glass) from Target, Cobalt blue water glass (wine glass) from Pier One Imports bought many moons ago, my everyday silverware, plate from IKEA, napkins mentioned above, white napkin from Target purchased on sale (I use these everyday) and some fresh rosemary sprigs.

photo 1 copy 5

First look…

I paired the suzani print napkin with the natural weave placemat and clear water glass. One trick I like to do is to tie a knot in the middle of the napkin to make a pretty bow. It’s simple and casual and in this case really shows off the pretty print of the napkin.

Β This would be so pretty with a vase of sunflowers as a centerpiece.

photo 2

photo 3

Second look…

I really like the graphic Greek key pattern pattern with the suzani print.

photo 4

photo 5

Third look…

I also like to use cloth napkins as placemats. I just folded a bit of it under at the end to make it the right size. It’s such a pretty print and this way you get to see more of it. I paired it with a plain white napkin again folded with the knot and added a fresh piece of Rosemary sprig. The white really pops.

photo 2 copy

photo 3 copy

Fourth look…

Still using the suzani print napkin as a placemat but using the yellow napkin with it. Sometimes a simple folded napkin on a plate is all you need, putting the silverware on top for something a little different.

photo 4 copy

Loving that fringe…

photo 5 copy

Fifth look…

Same as above but with a noted bow napkin and traditional silverware setting.

photo 1 copy 3

photo 2 copy 2

Sixth look…

I’m loving the rustic look of this.

photo 5 copy 2

You can use all kinds of fresh herbs to add to a table setting, they look and smell good.

photo 1 copy 4

7th look…

Just switched out the glass from above for a punch of color with the cobalt blue and removing the rosemary.

Add some daisies in a vase for a centerpiece. So sweet.

photo 3 copy 2

It’s hard to tell by the picture but the color of that cobalt blue glass is really rich and beautiful.

photo 4 copy 2

8th look…

Using the graphic placemat and folding the napkin into a triangle to mimic the pattern, placing the silverware on an angle just for something different.

photo 2 copy 3

photo 3 copy 3

9th look…

Using the yellow napkin as a placemat by folding it under a bit to make it a good size and simply adding the suzani napkin folded on top of the plate.

photo 4 copy 3

photo 5 copy 3

Last year at this time I found this beautiful floral print napkin on clearance at Pier One Imports for 98 cents and that’s how I got started on my scouting out Pier One’s clearance items. The minute I saw this print I thought how lovely it would be served with a yummy salad on a pretty spring day.

photo 2 copy 4

10th look…

Paired with the natural weave placematΒ  mentioned above.

photo 4 copy 4

11th look…

I also love how this red gingham print looks with the floral. I had the red gingham napkins that I used as a placemat. I think I got them at Target a while back. Doesn’t this combination look great?!

photo 2 copy 5

photo 5 copy 4

photo 1 copy 6

With just a few inexpensive items you can get 11 great looks. Hope this inspired you to make your everyday table something special.

image

Leave a Reply

