Happy New Year 2016 – What’s Up For This Year

Happy New Year 2016 replace 2015 concept on the sea beach

photo via Power of Now Oasis

 

Happy New Year!!! My first blog post of 2016, how exciting!!!

Here’s where I’ll be spending lots of my time in 2016: with my trusty Mac, taking photos with my new Nikon D7200 (I’m madly in love with this camera) and my new 2016 blog planner.

photo 3

2015 flew by and I learned so much this past year about blogging and interior design. I’m dedicated to making 2016 a year of growing my blog, expanding my business and getting as much as possible done on my home remodel.

Here’s what’s up for this year…

I’m happy to say that I’m ending 2015 much more organized than I started. I’ve always been very organized and a bit of a clean freak, although my teenage self would laugh at that, but that is the adult I’ve become. What really helped me this past year was reading a book called The Life-Changing Magic Of Tidying Up – the Japanese art of decluttering and organizing by Marie Kondo. You’ve probably seen or heard about this book as it was very popular. I really didn’t think I needed to read it but I did, and I’m so glad. Check out my blog post here.

the-life-changing-magic-of-tidying-up

So for 2016 I’m looking forward to more tidying up and decluttering so that when I end this year my entire house will be done. That will be quite a feat but I’m going to take it on.

For the rest of our house remodel it’s going to go like this…

The guest bath is almost done I’m just waiting on the shower fixture to be installed, which we had a bit of a problem with, do a treatment on the window pane that will allow more privacy and finish styling, and then I will be able to do the reveal, which I’m completely thrilled about.

For a sneak peak we went with the a Carrara Marble hexagon tile for the flooring and Carrara Marble subway tile in the shower, but that’s all I’m sharing. It really looks beautiful and I’m hoping to reveal this to you in the next couple of weeks. To see the before shots and some design inspiration that helped me along the way, check out my blog post here.

photo 1

My laundry room has been completed for a while and I will be sharing the full reveal some time next week. It’s got a masculine and industrial feel to it and is very organized. It makes my incredible amount of hours spent doing the laundry much more enjoyable.

Here is one of my favorite laundry rooms I ran across on Instagram. I must say I’m crazy about it although it really doesn’t look anything like mine. Being a design nut I could remodel or redecorate every room over and over again, I just love it so much. The white subway tiled walls, the cabinet colors, the marble counter tops and that ceramic floor…lovely!

What do you think of this beautiful laundry room?

photo

photo via The House on Nottingham

 

Another project that is started and should be fairly easy to complete at this point, is my office. I’m deciding on the cabinet color right now, I’m thinking about a soft pink. If I do that the same pink will be used in my kitchen pantry make over. My office is just off the kitchen so it would be a nice way to combine the spaces and add a nice flow. Not sure for now. I do have my desk chair bought which you can find here. To soften it up I added a sheep skin cover here. That’s all I’m sharing until the reveal, so look for that.

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.03.28 PM

I’ve decided to switch my guest bedroom with my husband’s home office. I think our home will function better if we move his office downstairs and have the guest room upstairs. This will take some doing as I have lots of plans for my husbands new office which will include some fun wall treatments and grass cloth wall paper. The room will need all new furniture too, so there will be lots to do.

Something similar to this for the wall treatment but it will probably be painted in a very dark navy blue…

c89b66578c9c332799d8490dbe5e5d12

photo via Bedroom Flickr

The guest bedroom is going to be completely redone so the two nightstands and the headboard and matching foot board will have to be sold. Can’t wait to start designing this room and the adjoining bathroom.

My daughter’s share a bathroom and that is probably going to have to be done fairly soon. I have already started buying for this project. I’ve got the rug, knobs for cabinets and some Turkish towels bought and I have the fixtures, sinks and toilet picked out. It’s completely designed I just need to get going on it and of course need some $$$.

The towels and knobs I got for this space you can check out on my blog post here.

I got the rug from One Kings Lane and it’s really gorgeous…

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.26.44 PM

Photo via One Kings Lane

I mentioned my pantry and that is also getting a makeover. I have a nice size walk-in pantry. I was originally going to wallpaper it with some this wall paper from Anthroplogie…

Screen Shot 2015-12-31 at 9.41.10 PM

photo via Anthropologie

Although I love this wallpaper and it brings in a bit of pink which I want, I just don’t think it will be cost effective. Most likely I will be going with pink and white paint.

I love the door on this pantry and would like to do something like this…

60c82597ffcd6bc51904b6998ed57dc0 2

I’ve already bought some baskets like the ones below to organize, they’reΒ  from Target and you can find them here (notice she used the wallpaper I like in her pantry)

pantry-2

photo via Lunchpails and Lipstick

I think that gets us pretty caught up with the up coming projects. I’ll be trying to blog Monday through Friday each week. This blog is a priority for me and I’ve got lots to share regarding, interior design, photography, DIY projects, recipes and I’ll also be talking about the transition from full time homemaker and mother to starting my own business. Life is such a journey and changing all the time. I’m embracing all of it as it comes and trying to just enjoy the ride.

Hope you stop by often and check out the progress.

All the best,

Joy

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2016 – What’s Up For This Year

Leave a Reply

