Joy’s Texas Banana Bread (even though I’m a California girl)

DSC_0161

Hold on to your cowboy hats because Joy’s Texas Banana Bread is the best banana bread you will ever have. Now you might be asking why this California Girl calls this “Texas Banana Bread”, so I’ll tell you. I lived in Dallas for 3 1/2 years and the best thing that came out of that time was marrying my husband, finding the name for my first born daughter (which is Sage) and this wonderful, delicious, mouth watering recipe for Banana Bread.

I’ve always loved a good banana bread. It’s one of the pleasures I remember from my childhood. The house filling with the aroma of the bread baking, cutting a warm piece and smothering it with butter. Ahhhhhhhhh delicious!!! As I got older and started to bake I tried a few banana bread recipes but they always fell a bit short, mostly they were too dry. While living in Texas a coworker brought some banana bread for everyone and that is where I found the perfect banana bread. The secret ingredient is the crushed pineapple. You don’t taste it really, but it gives the bread a wonderful texture and seals in the moisture. It truly makes a difference. The recipe is super easy and makes two large loaves.

I always start by greasing and flouring two 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 3 inch loaf pans. I use the spray it’s so much easier. Then I mash the bananas so they are ready to go. The recipe calls for 2 cups and that usually takes between 4 and 6 bananas. I like to mash them in a measuring cup to make it easier. Helpful hint: mash the bananas really well. I learned this when my daughter Sage helped me mash them when she was about 8 years old and she really went to town on them and it was the best bread I ever made, so now that’s what I do.

DSC_0149

 Then you’ll mix all the dry ingredients together in a large bowl. I didn’t add nuts this time but you can add pecans or walnuts. If I do add nuts, we like walnuts best.

DSC_0146

Combine the wet ingredients.

DSC_0152

Add to the dry ingredients.

I like using my hand mixer for this recipe because I think it gets the crushed pineapple well integrated into the the mix.

DSC_0155

Pour into the prepared pans and bake at 350 degrees.

DSC_0159

This bread smells so delicious when it’s cooking. I know it’s good when my husband stops working and comes downstairs and says “Hey, what are you cooking?”, which he did. He loves this bread.

Fresh out of the oven and looking nice and golden brown.

DSC_0171

DSC_0166

You may see tiny chunks of pineapple but that’s fine. It won’t seem like you’re eating fruit in your bread, it just adds lots of moisture.

DSC_0190

DSC_0180

DSC_0183

DSC_0188

Joy's Texas Banana Bread

  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Author: Avenue of Joy (avenueofjoy.wordpress.com)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups all purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (if you want)
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 cups mashed ripe bananas
  • 1 (8oz) can crushed pineapple drained
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract

Directions:

Combine first 5 ingredients. Stir in nuts if using. Combine remaining ingredients; add to flour mixture, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened.

Spoon batter into 2 greased and floured 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 x 3 inch loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes or until toothpick comes clean from center. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Remove and let cool on wire racks.

Enjoy

 

2 thoughts on “Joy’s Texas Banana Bread (even though I’m a California girl)

Leave a Reply

