Fun and Easy Halloween Decorations & Party Ideas

100_5813

My Sweet Little Trick-or-Treaters – Halloween 2007. Homemade Robot costume and Zombie Rastafarian

My girls absolutely loved Halloween as they were growing up, so we went all out every year with costumes, and decorations. We live in a great neighborhood to trick-or-treat in, so we always invited their classmates to come trick-or-treating with us. I’d make lots of food, the kids would get tons of candy and the best part was counting all the goodies when they got home. Really fond memories!

I’m always on the look out for new, fun ideas to make the holiday special.

Here’s some I really liked….

one kings lane_dylan lauren_OVERALL TABLE SHOT PORTRAIT

All related photos from One Kings Lane

I found these Halloween decorating tips by Dylan Lauren, owner of Dylan’s Candy Bar, on One Kings Lane. They’re super easy but really chic, which I love. You can find all supplies at One Kings Lane.

one kings lane_dylan lauren_OREO CAKE

 How easy would this be to make! You just need a cake stand, lots of Oreo cookies with the green filling and black gummy snakes.

Super cute.

one kings lane_dylan lauren_GIFT BAGS AND CANDY

For a fun candy station use glass and apothecary jars and fill with orange, yellow and black candy. Label each jar with a black stickers and write: cat eyes, worms or beetle eggs. Also make sure and put out scoops and cute Halloween bags, so your guests can help themselves.

You can also find similar items at Walmart, Target or Michaels. I’ve bought all of my glass and apothecary jars at those stores and Target sells the black stickers for the jars. For the bags you can also use these from Target, much more cost effective and you can tie them with orange ribbon. I’ve done candy bars before but I really think the black labels add a nice touch.

one kings lane_dylan lauren_MUMMY CANDLES

Cheesecloth-wrapped mason-jar candles make for dim mood lighting while serving double-duty as adorable mummies. They’re also cute to hold lollypops or plastic utensils for a party.

You can find cheesecloth at many grocery, gourmet, hardware, fabric or hobby stores. The mason jars can be found almost anywhere but Target and Walmart always have them. Plastic eyes can be found at craft stores.

 Here are some creative ideas I found on Pinterest look under my BOO board.

pumpkin4

These pumpkins are cute as centerpieces or just around the house. I like that there not scary.

pumpkin-decorating-101696530

Photo from Midwest Living (sorry for the fuzzy photo, only one I could find)

White pumpkins encircled by bittersweet vines make for a festive centerpiece.

fall+decorating+ideas+-+pink,+white+and+gold+pumpkins+on+candlesticks,+with+pumpkin+vases

If you’re new to my blog then you probably don’t know how much I love PINK. When I saw this table I just had to post it. The original source is no longer available so I don’t have details but it was too pretty not to post. I don’t think it would be too hard to do, just a little paint and for the flowers: you just carve out a hole in the pumpkin and stick a container in it to hold the water and flowers. I think this is a really fun way to do something different for Halloween. You could, of course, always do this with traditional Fall colors.

Happy Fall!!!

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

