Great Classic Books to Own and Using them to Style Bookshelves

tumblr_nccs7tNhQC1sinrrno1_500

All these beautiful classic hardback books are from Barnes and Nobel.

I’ve always been a bit of a bookworm. Who doesn’t love a rainy day, a warm fire, and snuggling on the couch and reading, or a beautiful sunny day laying out at the beach or pool reading away as the warm sun tans you. While raising my daughters I made sure we joined the public library reading club each summer, I read to them constantly when they were little and of course they are reading many classics throughout their educational years. We have quite a library of books that we’ve accumulated over the years for our family which I just love. Good books are read over and over at our house. For a while there, I think people were switching over to eBooks which I thought was sad, I get the convenience, but for me holding the book in your hand, turning the pages, even a cute little bookmark, all make for the experience. We have a reading nook in our home which consists of a big comfy chair and ottoman, a small table with a reading lamp, and a cozy throw blanket. It’s one of my favorite spots in the house.I started buying classic hardback books for my daughters years ago, giving them one or more as gifts. They are getting a beautiful collection.

The first book I bought to start my daughters collection was this lovely copy of Alice and Wonderland from Barnes and Nobles. They have a wonderful line of classic hardbacks and very reasonable prizes. Most were $10 – $25.

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.04.41 AM

You can get the Barnes and Noble collection (look for Bargain Books/Collectible Editions) either online or at their stores. I highly recommend these. Here are a few more they offer…

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.06.40 AM

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.07.52 AM

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.08.58 AM

Screen Shot 2015-10-04 at 7.09.35 AM

Aren’t those gorgeous!!! I know it’s only October but for those of you, like myself, who have already started their Christmas shopping these make a great gift. It would be a lovely thing to start a collection for not only your own kids, but nieces, nephews and grandchildren.

I was shopping at Costco over the weekend and they also had some wonderful classic hardbacks for great prices. I didn’t take a picture and couldn’t find them online, so they must only be available at the stores. I would go quickly if your interested because they were selling fast.

Another place I found to get some nice classics is Indigo Books and Music Inc. It’s a Canadian company with very good prices. You can find them here. Search: Penguin Young Readers Group for the whole collection.

Using these books is a wonderful way to decorate your home. The beautiful, colorful books and binders, are like displaying little pieces of art in your bookshelves. Shelving is quite the trend in decor right now. Here are some great ones: all photos from Pinterest.

tumblr_lra8d9Sn8h1qh1rfao1_500

Loving the mirror hung in the above photo.

como-decorar-estanterias-02

Loving the styling with both of these photos.

como-decorar-estanterias-07

The photo below shows a classic bookshelf.

enhanced-17129-1407861201-5

And of course the big trend as of late…organizing your books by color. Although I like this, it might make it hard to find a book when you want it, but it does look pretty.

colorful-book-styling-onekingslane

MTMwMDM1OTA4MTI3ODEzNjAy

this photo from Cupcakes and Cashmere

For some handy tips on styling bookshelves check out this blog post from

Cupcakes and Cashmere

and this one from Little Green Notebook

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

