Welcoming Fall with Hearty Harvest Chili

photo 2 copy 2

Here, in Southern California, we are still waiting for the crisp, cool, Fall weather. It’s been hot, hot, hot! Not complaining though, because the weather here is lovely all year round. But, it is still Fall so even though it might not feel like it, I thought I’d give the season a little push and start cooking with my favorite Fall recipes.

I’ve been making Hearty Harvest Chili for many years and it’s a family favorite. I found the recipe in a magazine although I don’t recall which one. I find some of my best recipes in magazines. I love making this vegan feast because it is so tasty and hearty and really warms the tummy especially on a cold day. It makes a great big pot full and is wonderful for leftovers.

Here’s what you’ll need:

photo 1

Olive oil, onions, red bell peppers, cumin, garlic, dried kidney beans, vegetable broth (or if you would like to add protein, but not vegan, you can use chicken broth), can crushed tomatoes, sweet potatoes, butternut squash, sea salt

Start by soaking 3 cups of kidney beans in water for 2 hours. (I like them soaked longer, I’ve even soaked them overnight)

Chop 3 cups of onions, dice 2 red bell peppers, and mince 2 cloves of garlic

photo 2 photo 1 copy

I love fresh veggies all cut up and ready to cook. I know it’s gonna be good when I see all these vibrant colors.

In a large sauce pan or dutch oven (I use my Le Creuset dutch oven, which I got for a great price at Marshall’s and I love it!) Heat 1 Tbs. olive oil. Add onions and peppers and cook for 15 minutes. Stir in 1 Tbs. cumin and 2 cloves of mined garlic.

photo 2 copy

Add beans and 6 cups of vegetable broth. Bring to a boil and than simmer for 45 minutes, covered.

Add one 14 oz. can crushed tomatoes with juice, 2 sweet potatoes peeled and cut in 1-inch chunks    (I buy these pre-cut if possible), 1 butternut squash cut in 1-inch chunks (again I buy these pre-cut), and 1 Tbs. sea salt. Bring to a boil again and simmer 30 minutes longer, covered. I like to cook them for an hour longer.

photo 3

Everything mixed together and ready to cook. Beautiful color and flavors.

I like to serve this with some fresh country french loaf bread and butter. Dip the bread in the chili sauce, it’s amazing!!!!

photo 1 copy 2

The best part about this meal is it’s even better the next day. I would recommend making it the day before you want to serve it, the flavors blend together and the beans get nice and soft.

Hearty Harvest Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs. olive oil
  • 3 cups chopped onions
  • 2 red bell peppers, diced
  • 1 Tbs. cumin
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3 cups dried kidney beans soaked in water for at least 2 hours and drained
  • 6 cups vegetable broth
  • 1 14oz. can crushed tomatoes with juice
  • 2 sweet potatoes peeled and cut in 1-inch chunks
  • 1 butternut squash peeled and cut in 1-inch chunks
  • 1 Tbs. sea salt

Directions:

In a large saucepan, heat oil. Add onion and peppers and cook for 15 minutes. Stir in cumin and garlic. Add beans and 6 cups of vegetable broth. Bring to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes, covered. Add tomatoes, potatoes, squash and salt. Bring to a boil and simmer 30 minutes longer, covered ( I like to cook it for an hour more).

For best results make hours earlier or even a day before you plan on serving, it really adds to the flavor. Great for leftovers too!

Hope you give this recipe it try. It’s so easy and really great, healthy, comfort food. Plus it makes a great BIG pot full.

Let me know what you think.

Happy Fall!!!

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

