The Best Nail Polish…Ever!!!

SallyHansenMiracleGel3

Before I go on and on about how amazing Sally Hansen Miracle Gel Nail Polish is, I want to share a little nail polish story with you. My nail polish journey started at my Sweet 16 in 1978. I was so excited to invite all my girlfriends to Yesterday’s restaurant in Westwood Village (LA), I was wearing a new outfit: a white and silver sparkling disco shirt with my black cord Sassoon pants and the last perfect detail, my black criss-cross slip on Candy’s. I was the perfect disco party girl. I was pretty pleased with myself. When my Mom showed up I said “how do I look?” her response, “you look great, but never wear open toed shoes without having your nails done”. Ouch, that sure took the wind out of my sails. Thanks Mom!

But in defense of my mom, I do agree with her now. She was doing what we all do as mom’s and that’s to teach are children the best that we can, but sometimes our delivery is a bit off. Believe me it was not earth shattering then and isn’t now, but from that point on you will rarely see me without my toes polished. California living, especially by the beach means pretty much year round we wear sandals or flip flops, so toes lookin’ good, makes sense.

I do love the look of a good manicure and certainly now, with all the nail art and many other different options, it’s more fun than ever, but between cleaning, gardening, and the day to day activities that I do, keeping a manicure was a bit difficult, until now…

ย Sally Hansen’s Miracle Gel Nail Polish is the BEST nail polish I have ever used. I’ve been an OPI and ESSIE nail polish user for years but they have never lasted this long or gone on as well.

I decided to do a little test to see how well the Sally Hansen Miracle Gel worked.

First I bought two of the two packs because they both came with the all important gel top coat, that way my girls and I both had a top coat to use. I also bought the pink color because pink it’s a staple color for me. I liked that these were all nice summer colors too. All nail polish purchased at my local Target, also check out my blog post here for more info.

(colors: Malibu Peach, B Girl and Smartease)

photo 1 copy 3 photo 2 copy 2

I started by using the Sally Hansen Double Duty Base & Top Coat. I’ve used this for a long time but usually only use it as a base coat. Then followed up with two coats of color and then one coat of the gel top coat.

shtn2239_dbldty

5 days into it, here’s how my nails looked (photos below).

Pretty great, right?! No chips and still shiny. Looked exactly like I had it done at the Nail Salon but for a fraction of the cost.

IMG_0443IMG_0441

Toes still looking good too. (Sandals: Target, Bathmat: Costco)

IMG_0433 IMG_0444

Now the really good news, after 10 days (photos below), still looking good. I only need to change the color because my nails grow fast and you can see the nail growth, which I don’t like.

Let me also say that I was not easy on these hands and feet. With this home remodel and my mom duties I was not gentle or careful with these nails. Lots of dishes, cleaning, gardening and working out, to name a few things these hands and feet have been through.

I didn’t even bother to add any clear top coats along the way. But, just so you know,ย  that is a good trick to make your polish last longer, just add a top layer of clear coat every few days, really makes the polish stay longer and look great.

photo 1 photo 2

I also wanted to make sure that the gel polish did not harm my nails in any way and to see if it was easy to take off. My main complaint with the salon gel nails is that it can be damaging to your nails and is difficult to take off. Not so with the Sally Hansen Gel Nail Polish. It came off just as easy as regular polish and my nails were fine.

Sally Hansen Miracle Nail Polish has won me over. No trips to the Nail Salon, hands under lights, not to mention gel manicures cost a lot more than a regular manicure, just an easy at home manicure that looks professional.

If you give it a try, I’d love to know what you think.

Happy Summer.

All the best,

Joy

One thought on “The Best Nail Polish…Ever!!!

Leave a Reply

