Snickerdoodles, Cookbooks and Big Sisters

photo 3

Awwwwww warm Snickerdoodles right out of the oven. They’re cakey, cinnamon, sugar, sweetness melts in your mouth. It reminds me of Christmas, childhood, and comfort. As I pulled out my very old and worn cookie cookbook to prepare these, it struck me how important this cookbook is to me. It was given to me in 1985 by my second oldest sister Diane. I’ve used this cookbook so many times over the years and I always read the inscription in the front cover and think about how much Diane and all my older sisters mean to me. I have four older sisters and a younger brother. My older sisters were always so loving and attentive to me and my little brother. Besides baby sitting, they would sometimes surprise me and my brother and pick us up from school, take us on the occasional outing, or Diane would always cook and bake for us.Β  My brother and I will always be the babies and I’m totally okay with that. Somethings in a family never change and one of those is your birth order. I love that my sister, who loved to cook and bake, wanted to pass that along to me and the inscription is a wonderful reminder of that, and a way to remember who gave it to me because lets face it, as you get older you forget those things. My fourth oldest sister Dinky and her family also gave me a cookbook in 1987 that I have used every Christmas my whole adult life. She did not inscribe it but I did add the date and who gave it to me. It’s nice to think that these two gifts have lasted in my life this long. I give cookbooks as gifts all the time and always inscribe them hoping the recipient will enjoy it as much as I do.

So as I whipped up these Snickerdoodles for my family I know I am giving them memories that will last a lifetime.

photo 4 photo 2

The cookbook and inscription given to me by my sweet sister Diane. I have to say that no one can make chocolate chip cookies like her. I can use the same recipe but hers are always better.

photo 3

My favorite thing about this cookbook, is that it was originally published in 1963. It’s a good ol’ fashioned cookbook.

photo 1

The worn out pages and two of my favorite recipes: Snickerdoodles and Russian Teacakes. I love a well used cookbook with lots of spills and markings in it. Shows a life well lived.

photo 4 photo 5

Here’s the cookbook from my sister Dinky and her family from 1987. I love that this was before their son was born, reminders of our family journey. I use it every Christmas. This cookbook was published in 1987.

On to the prep of the delicious Snickerdoodles…

photo 5

Mixing the sugar and cinnamon to roll the dough in.

photo 2 copy

Mixing the wet ingredients with my trusty pink Kitchen Aid mixer. I don’t know how I went without this for so long. Love this thing!!!

photo 5 copy

Dry ingredients added. Loving these glass storage containers from Walmart. A pleasure to bake with the mixer and having all my ingredients organized and easy to get to.

photo 1 copy

Dough is done and looks so good. That was quick and easy.

photo 3 copy 2

My small melon baller is the best way to get just the right size cookies. Having the right baking tools really helps.

photo 2 copy 2

Rolling dough in cinnamon and sugar and placing on baking sheet. Using parchment paper for perfectly baked cookies and easy cleanup.

photo 4 copy 2

Ready to go into the oven.

photo 5 copy 2

Perfectly baked cookies. YUM!!!!

photo 1 copy 2

A little trick my family has done for as long as I can remember,Β  is to use a paper grocery bag to cool the cookies on. It absorbs any leftover grease and makes for easy clean up.

photo 2

photo 3 copy 3

Ready to eat.

photo 3

Here’s the Snickerdoodles recipe from the Betty Crocker’s Cookie Book.

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 tablespoons ground cinnamon

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Mix 1 1/2 cups sugar, the butter, shortening and eggs. Stir in the flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt. Shape the dough by rounded teaspoonfuls into balls. Mix 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon; roll balls in mixture to coat. Place about 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet (I use parchment paper). Bake until set, 8 to 10 minutes. Immediately remove from cookie sheet. Makes about 6 dozen.

Enjoy the Snickerdoodles and here’s to family memories.

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

