Chili Cheese Bake…easy comfort food

photo 4

This Chili Cheese Bake was such a pleasant surprise. It was so incredibly easy to make, it smelled delicious as it was cooking and the outcome was a warm, comfort food, one pan meal. What could be better than that?! You never know where you’re going to find a good recipe and this one was a last minute comment from the women checking me out at Trader Joe’s. I mentioned how much I loved the Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Chili and their Cornbread Mix and as I was leaving she said, “Have you ever baked it all together in a 9×11 pan. It’s so easy and good”. So in about 10 seconds she gave me the directions and as soon as I got home I wrote it down. It wasn’t what I had planned on making for dinner that night but I really wanted to give it a shot and I’m  glad I did. It’s a perfect meal for those busy nights when everyone’s hungry and there’s not a lot of time or energy to prepare something more complicated. Plus, it’s vegetarian which is all I cook, and I guarantee even the most stubborn meat eater will love this.

Here’s what you need for this lovely, comforting meal.

photo 1 copy 3

Ingredients: 3 cans of your favorite chili. I really enjoy Trader Joe’s Organic Vegetarian Chili. I’ve served this many times over the years and it is surprising good canned chili. I’m showing 4 cans because I didn’t think 3 cans would be enough but it was, so disregard the fourth can in the picture.  Trader Joe’s Cornbread Mix and ingredients for the mix which is 1 egg, 1/2 cup oil and 3/4 cup milk. Shredded cheddar cheese.

Now here goes the easiest recipe ever….

photo 2 copy 3

First make the Cornbread as directed on the box and set aside.

photo 3 copy 2

Pour 3 cans of chili into a 9×11 glass baking pan, mix together and spread evenly on the bottom of pan.

Spread a nice even layer of shredded cheddar cheese over chili. No measuring required.

photo 4 copy 2

Next, spread cornbread mixture evenly over the chili and cheese layers.

photo 5 copy 2

Lastly spread one more layer of shredded cheese evenly over the cornbread mixture. Again, no measuring required.

photo 1 copy 2

Now how easy was that.

Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for 35 minutes and voila…

you have dinner made.

photo 2 copy 2

Fresh out of the oven, bubbly over with goodness and a nice browned cheese top.

photo 3 copy

Let it cool a bit and serve.

photo 1 copy

Layers of hearty goodness.

photo 4 copy

I served this with a dollop of sour cream on top, my husband also likes it with some chopped onions on top.

photo 2 copy

photo 1

The chili is nice and warm, the cheese is melted and the corn bread is cooked perfectly.

photo 5

Ingredients:

  • 3 cans of your favorite chili (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • 1 box of your favorite cornbread mix (I used Trader Joe’s)
  • bag of shredded cheddar cheese
  • ingredients indicated on the cornbread mix. For Trader Joe’s: 1 egg, 1/2 cup oil, 3/4 cup milk

Directions:

Preheat oven to degrees indicated on the cornbread mixture box that you are using. When using the Trader Joe’s Cornbread mix, preheat to 350 degrees. Prepare your cornbread mix according to directions and set aside. Pour 3 cans of your favorite chili into a 9×11 glass baking pan, mix together and spread evenly over the bottom of pan. Next, sprinkle an even layer of shredded cheddar cheese over chili, no need to measure.  Pour evenly the cornbread mixture over the other two layers. Lastly, one more layer of shredded cheddar cheese over cornbread mixture. Bake for 35 minutes or however long the cornbread mixture you use says to cook the cornbread.

I really recommend the Trader Joe’s Chili and Cornbread Mix if you have one near you but the women who gave me the recipe said any chili or cornbread mix will do. Just follow the baking time on your cornbread recipe. Serve with a nice garden salad.

Hope you enjoy this as much as my family does. Would love to know what your family thinks.

All the best,

Joy

2 thoughts on “Chili Cheese Bake…easy comfort food

Leave a Reply

