Pizza with Ricotta, Arugula & Grapes…You never know what you’re gonna find in People magazine

photo 5 copy

Believe it or not, some of my best recipes I’ve found in People Magazine. Some of these stars can really cook! While leafing through the March 2, 2015 issue I found this fun recipe by Tiffani Thiessen. I guess she has a new cooking show on the Cooking Channel called Dinner At Tiffani’s, I’ll have to check it out because I really like this recipe. I LOVE anything made with lots of veggies, so most of the time if vegetables are involved I’m gonna like it. What drew me to this recipe was all the fresh ingredients and it was such a different spin on traditional pizza. The original recipe called for a grill pan which unfortunately I do not have. Kind of funny because I was right about to buy one from Williams Sonoma that was on sale. Guess I should have. So instead I made the dough in the oven, I just followed the directions on the pizza dough container. I also doubled the cheese and grapes, and was pretty generous with the arugula and it turned out great. What I really liked was the presentation, it was just so darn pretty. I think I would serve this more as an appetizer and cut it up in little squares and serve it on a wood cutting board or pizza peel. It was super easy to make and was fine at room temperature. You could definitely make this ahead for  a party. The only thing that is cooked is the dough and the ricotta, everything else is fresh on top.

Overall the taste is very fresh and light. The grapes add a bit of sweet without being too overwhelming and the ricotta, arugula and pine nuts blend together in a nice balance. My husband and I liked it a bit more than my teenage daughters, so I would think this would be better served to adults. My daughters did like it though and ate all of it, but again we like our veggies. Super healthy and easy, and worth a try.

Here’s the original article.

photo 1 photo 2

Let’s get started.

photo

Ingredients: Refrigerated pizza dough, ricotta cheese, arugula, red grapes, pine nuts and lemon.

Cut the grapes in half and zest the lemon.

photo 1 copy

photo 5

Spray the a baking sheet with cooking spray and lay out the pizza dough.

Pre-bake for 6 minutes.

photo 3

Spread on 1 cup of ricotta cheese.

photo 4

Bake for 9 minutes.

photo 2 copy

Top with arugula and grapes.

photo 3 copy

Then top with pine nuts and lemon zest.

photo 2 copy 2

It’s ready to eat.

photo 3 copy 2

Cut into squares and serve. It’s so pretty with all the bright contrasting color and looks so fresh and healthy.

photo 5 copy 2

photo 4 copy 2

Pizza with Ricotta, Arugula & Grapes

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz refrigerated pizza dough
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese (I used 1 cup)
  • 2 cups arugula
  • 1/2 cup red grapes sliced in half (I used 1 cup)
  • 2 tbsp. pine nuts
  • zest of 1 lemon

Directions:

Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat and preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Flatten and stretch the dough into a 12-in. round or oval. Carefully lay the dough in the bottom of the hot grill pan and cook until it stiffens and bubbles start to form, 1 to 2 minutes. Flip the dough and cook until grill marks appear and the crust is cooked through, 1 to 2 minutes.* Transfer the crust to a baking sheet and spread ricotta on top. Bake until the cheese melts slightly, about 6 minutes. Remove from the oven and top with arugula, grapes, pine nuts and lemon zest. Cut into squares and serve warm.

*I just spread the dough on a baking sheet sprayed with cooking spray in a rectangle shape and pre-baked for 6 minutes. Then I added the ricotta and baked for 9 minutes more. This was much easier and it tasted great.

This is such an easy recipe, but looks so pretty and impressive. Light, fresh and delicious.

All the best,

Joy

2 thoughts on “Pizza with Ricotta, Arugula & Grapes…You never know what you’re gonna find in People magazine

Leave a Reply

