Holiday Celebrations For Teens and Young Adults…the kids are growing up!

photo 5 copy 2

Valentine’s Day was just a few days ago and as I do for every holiday, I try and make it special for my family. My girls, or I guess I should start saying my daughters, are 18 and 15 years old with birthdays just around the corner. I’ve always called them “my girls” but I think even that should be changing as the realization is, they are not little girls anymore…sigh!!! This Valentine’s Day more than ever I realized I’d have to rethink our holiday celebrations to be more adult oriented. As much as I’ve loved the young phase of my daughters lives, it is time to honor the phase they are in now, they are becoming such lovely young woman and I want them to know I see that, and won’t “baby” them too much any more. To be honest, this can be a tricky transition for a mommy. I always want them to feel like they have a place to be “mothered”  but I don’t want to me a “smother”. Here are some ways I “grew up” our Valentine’s Day celebration.

photo 1

As I’ve done every Valentine’s Day, I started with a fun heart filled breakfast. The change this time: no balloons and a more adult table setting. The tablecloth I purchased last year, on sale, at Target, they only had four matching napkins so I bought the four they had and bought four plain red just in case I ever needed more. The red circle placemats are also from Target, as are the glassware.  The dinnerware is IKEA. All very inexpensive but all together makes for a beautiful table. I’m a big believer in setting the table, your family/guests will feel so special and the meal will taste better. It’s minimal effort with great impact. Once you start collecting a few things to mix and match, you’ll have a nice table for any reason. For everyday I always use at least placemats.

photo 3

I had a very busy week and didn’t get a chance to get the wrinkles out of the tablecloth, but it still looked great. I have a wonderful setting on my Maytag drier that takes care of wrinkles, more on that on my upcoming laundry room remodel blog. Don’t sweat the small stuff, no one even noticed especially when all the food was on the table. I didn’t put a centerpiece because I needed room for all the food and I had put bouquets on each of my daughters nightstands in their rooms (another more adult feature, that they really appreciated).

photo 5 copy photo 3 copy

Everyone got a Valentine gift on their chair, just waiting for them. My daughter Skye had a friend sleep over so she got one too, the more the merrier.  This year the gifts were a bit different too, clothes, just a small See’s Candy box, and a few other odds and ends (see here). Oh and let’s not forget my cute homemade Heart Bookmarks.

photo 4

As I mentioned, I was very busy this week so I fell a bit behind on making my Valentine treats, so I got up extra early and baked these adorable pink heart mini-cupcakes. They were so cute even without the frosting. Skye likes things mini so this was just for her. I also made the BEST Banana Nut Muffins and Chocolate Chip muffins, they were really good, find what I used to make them here.

photo 2 copy

Here’s what I served: muffins, heart cereal, scrambled eggs, veggie sausage, orange juice, and sparkling apple juice.

I love to see their faces when they come downstairs and see this pretty table waiting for them. No matter what happens the rest of the day I know it started right for them.

More table photos…

photo 5

photo 1 copy

My daughter Sage and I had a couple of appointments to go to that day, so off we went and when we got back it was time for lunch.

Here’s what I served…

photo

Veggie burger sliders with melted Gruyere cheese, avocado, lettuce and tomatoes. Side of french fries and carrot fries. We are seriously addicted to these carrot fries find them here. Again, mini size veggie burgers for Skye, served restaurant style in these little red baskets that I got at Walmart last summer.

And for dessert the adorable pink mini Valentine Day cupcakes…

photo 3 copy 2

Cupids arrow went right through these cute little cupcakes…

photo 4 copy 2

The day was packed full of great food, yummy treats and a much more adult theme. Everyone had a great day, love was in the air, and a good time was had by all.

Hope you had a great Valentine’s Day too and if you’re family is evolving into a more “grownup” place, I hope this helped with the transition.

All the best,

Joy

6 thoughts on “Holiday Celebrations For Teens and Young Adults…the kids are growing up!

Leave a Reply

