Heart Bookmarks for Valentine’s Day

photo 3 copy 4

I found these Valentine bookmarks on Pinterest and thought they were so cute. I read a lot and never seem to have a bookmark, so for this bookworm, this project was a must. The best part, I didn’t have to buy anything. Made from the paint samples your find at any Home Depot, Lowe’s, Walmart or Paint Store and using some ribbon I already owned, I was set to go. I also had the tools I needed, so this was a free and easy project.

photo 1

Here’s all you need to get started: paint color samples, ribbon, heart shape punch, hole punch, paper cutter and scissors (not shown).

photo 3 photo 4

First I cut off all the wording on both the sides and the top, making it the size bookmark I wanted.

Finished cut piece.

photo 5

All the paint color samples cut. Make them any size you want.

photo 4 copy

Using my heart punch (which I’ve had for many years that I purchased through Creative Memories for scrapbooking) I punched the small heart shape evenly in each block of color.

photo 1 copy

Using the hole puncher, I punched a hole at the top for the ribbon to go through.

photo 2 copy

All the hearts and holes punched.

photo 1 copy 2

Cut coordinating ribbon and secured the ribbon through the hole.

photo 3 copy 2

Finished bookmarks.

photo 5 copy 2

photo 4 copy 3

This is a great Valentine gift and I have the perfect book to go with it: Find It in Everything Photographs by Drew Barrymore is a lovely book of photos she took of hearts. It’s a sweet little book and I love that she found love in all sorts of places. This book is similar to my weekly series: 7 Days of JOY, where I look for JOY in every day (search: 7 days of joy to check it out).

photophoto 1 copy 4

Look how cute those bookmarks are. Great Valentine’s gift for that special bookworm in your life.

photo 5 copy 4

Here’s a page from the inside of the book. It’s pretty amazing where Drew noticed some of these hearts. Makes you wonder how much we miss by not seeing the details in our daily lives. Reminds me to pay attention to the details and enjoy the simple things we might normally take for granted.

photo 2 copy 4

Valentine’s Day is just around the corner. If you need a fun project with your kids, something to accompany their Valentines or you just feel like getting crafty, this was really fun, quick and easy. Hope you have a wonderful Valentine’s Day full of love and JOY.

All the best,

Joy

4 thoughts on “Heart Bookmarks for Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

