Tasty Tuesday…The Cookbook Series with The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld #5

photo

Welcome to The Cookbook Series. If you are new to this blog, here’s how this works. I pick out a cookbook and I will post every Tuesday recipes I’ve tried from the cookbook and let you know what I think. I love buying cookbooks (well any kind of book really), and I will read them cover to cover, but I found I was not using them enough. Well, I’m gonna use them now and I’d love for you to come along with me. The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld is the cookbook I’ve used to kick off this new series. I picked it because it is user friendly, simple and using fresh ingredients. As the title suggests, it is meant for people who are afraid to cook or don’t have many skills. Although I don’t fall into either of these categories anymore there was a time I did. Also, it is a beautiful cookbook with lots of learning tips. I bought this cookbook for both of my daughters for all the good info and recipes that are good for starting cooks and bakers. The only recipes I did not touch on were the meat recipes. They all look very tasty though and if you decide to get the cookbook I’d give them a try. I just don’t cook meat. I’m a big veggie fan so I naturally go to those recipes.

I tried three recipes this week: Freaky Greek Pasta, Carrot Fries and Broiled Honey-Nut Bananas. All were very good, easy to follow and healthy. I won’t share all the recipes but I will for the first one. Let’s start with the Freaky Greek Pasta.

Freaky Greek Pasta

photo 2

Always beautiful photos to accompany the recipes. Really love that about this cookbook.

photo 4 copy 2

This delicious pasta has fresh broccoli, sliced almonds, feta cheese and freshness from the zest of a lemon. Light and bright it gets a thumbs up from me. It also made a large amount and was tasty for leftovers.

Preparing to get started.

photo 2 copy 4

photo 1 copy 4

Cut up broccoli florets to add to the boiling penne pasta I have going on the stove.

photo 4 copy 3

Combined in a large bowl crumbled feta, zest of a lemon, oregano, red pepper and black pepper.

Almonds have been toasted on the stove already.

photo 5 copy 3

Broccoli and pasta get cooked together…super easy.

photo 2 copy 3

All the ingredients get combined and tossed together. Season with salt at the end.

That’s it. Very easy. I had to let it sit for about an hour before I could serve it, so I put aluminum foil over it and it stayed warm enough to serve. I think it actually helped to let the flavors melt together. It really had a light freshness about it form the lemon, but a bit of zest from the red pepper. This was one of her recipes that I felt was actually seasoned enough. Some of her recipes I’ve needed to add a bit of seasoning (noted on other blog entries).

Here are the directions…

Freaky Greek Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch broccoli
  • 8 oz. feta (2 c., crumbled)
  • 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 c. sliced almonds
  • 1 box (1lb) whole wheat or regular pasta
  • 2 T. e.v. olive oil
  • Kosher salt, to taste (I use sea salt)

Directions:

Start water to make pasta.Β  Cut the broccoli into small florets. Crumble the feta into a very large bowl. Zest the lemon directly into bowl. Add the oregano, red pepper and black pepper. In a small skillet on medium heat on the stove, toast the almonds for 3 – 5 minutes until fragrant. Remove from heat. When the water comes to a boil, add the pasta. Set the timer for 3 minutes less than the package directions call for. When the timer goes off add the broccoli to the pasta and cook for 3 minutes. Drain the pasta and broccoli and add to large bowl. Sprinkle in the toasted almonds and combine with the ingredients on the bottom. Drizzle in the olive oil and toss once or twice more. Season with salt to taste.

Carrot Fries

photo 1

Next I tried the Carrot Fries. I thought they’d pair nicely with the pasta. I’m kind of sick of sweet potato fries, so I thought this would be a nice change and it was. This will definitely be served again and again at my house. My only criticism would be that it only needed half the amount of olive oil. We eat a lot of roasted veggies around here and I’ve found when it comes to the oil, less is more. Other than that totally yummy.

photo 4

6 medium carrots went a long way with this recipe.

photo 5

Carrots peeled and cut up and ready to be roasted. Look how beautiful they are.

photo 3 copy 3

Tossed with some oil oil, salt and pepper. Into the oven they go.

Fresh out of the oven

photo 1 copy 3

photo 1 copy 2

Served with the Freaky Greek Pasta.

photo 3 copy

My husband loved both of these, he was especially impressed with the carrot fries (mostly with my cutlery skills, which by the way was so easy, but looked more impressive than it was).

photo 2 copy 2

Lastly for dessert I made the Broiled Honey-Nut Bananas. In the cookbook Jessica says this is her favorite recipe, so I thought this would be a fitting last recipe to try as we end this edition of The Cookbook Series.

Broiled Honey-Nut Bananas

photo 3

This recipe was easy and a pretty healthy dessert although I think it was made even better served with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream.

photo 4 copy

Nut mixture prepared and put on banana slices going into the oven to broil forΒ  1 – 2 minutes.

Just out of the oven.

photo 1 copy

The nuts are nicely toasted on top and the brown sugar, butter and honey melted over the warm bananas is a not too sweet dessert and not too heavy (even if you add the ice cream).

photo 2 copy

And that’s a wrap.

This will be the last of the recipes in this installment of The Cook Book Series with The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld. Next up Make It Ahead cookbook by Ina Garten. Really looking forward to this. I’m a huge fan of Ina’s and I’m excited to work my way through this cookbook. It’s her newest one that just came out recently. Look for it next Tasty Tuesday.

Thanks for joining along on these Tasty Tuesdays. Let me know what you think of the recipes.

All the best,

Joy

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday…The Cookbook Series with The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld #5

Leave a Reply

