Tasty Tuesday…The Cookbook Series with The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld #2

photo

Welcome, to the second installment of The Cookbook Series with The Can’t Cook Book by Jessica Seinfeld. Last week I tried a couple of the breakfast recipes and this week I tried some vegetable recipes. Please look in my Menu bar under Recipes and The Cookbook Series for last weeks installment. This is a great cookbook for beginning cooks, but I like it, because these are simple recipes that are nutritious, healthy and taste good. Sometimes there is just not enough time to cook but you want to eat something homemade, this is a great cookbook for that. It’s super easy, beautiful pictures and so far, my family has liked everything we’ve tried. As, I said before I gave a copy of this cookbook to both of my girls because it’s a great first cookbook and the recipes are easy to follow.

This week I’ll be blogging about three different recipes: Roasted Eggplant & Cherry Tomatoes, Garlic & Rosemary Cannellini Beans, and Roasted Sweet Potato Coins. Let’s get started…

Roasted Eggplant & Cherry Tomatoes

IMG_5020This is a super easy recipe and I love that it uses eggplant. The fresh thyme gives it a wonderful flavor. You can serve this on a nice thick slice of your favorite fresh bread, over pasta or it would make a great appetizer too. It is vegan and gluten free (serve it over gluten free bread or pasta, or you can eat it all by itself). This recipe keeps well in the refrigerator for leftovers.

IMG_5003Cut up the eggplant into pieces. Place eggplant and garlic into a 2 1/2 – 3 qt baking dish. Add tomatoes and thyme to baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle with salt, red pepper and black pepper. Toss together with your hands.

Ready to go into a 400 degree oven for 50-60 minutes. How easy is that. (complete directions to follow)

Ready to go into the oven…

IMG_5004

Fully cooked and ready to eat. Pull thyme sprigs out before serving.

IMG_5017

IMG_5033

IMG_5029Served on top of fresh buttered French Bread. It is also good with a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.

IMG_5025

I served it with a mixed green salad with vinaigrette dressing.

IMG_5043The next day I served it for lunch. I sliced and buttered the bread, topped with Eggplant & Cherry Tomato mixture and then topped with slices of mozzarella cheese and melted under a broiler. So great!!!

IMG_5078Here’s the recipe beautifully printed in The Can’t Cook Book, notice I keep notes on all my recipes for future use.

photo 1Roasted Eggplant & Cherry Tomatoes

Ingredients:

  • 1 large eggplant (about 1 1/2 lbs)
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 pint cherry or grape tomatoes
  • 6 sprigs thyme
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp. kosher salt (I used sea salt)
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Heat the oven (with oven rack in the middle) to 400 degrees. Cut the washed eggplant by cutting off the stem, cut the eggplant into 1-inch-thick rounds. Stack rounds two at a time and then cut into 1-inch cubes. Peel garlic. Place the eggplant and garlic in a 2 1/2 – 3 qt. baking dish. Put washed tomatoes and thyme into dish. Drizzle with the oil and sprinkle in spices. Toss together with your hands until the eggplant is coated with oil. Roast until the eggplant is really soft and tender, 50-60 minutes. ( at about 40 minutes give it a quick stir and return to cooking)

 Garlic & Rosemary Cannellini Beans

The next two recipes won’t  be posted with detailed recipes (you’ll have to get the cook book for them) but they are equally as easy and tasty. The second recipe is Garlic & Rosemary Cannellini Beans. I don’t cook meat of any kind so I’m always looking for recipes with lots of protein and Cannellini beans are a great way to do that. This recipe has carrots, garlic, fresh rosemary, tomatoes and beans. You basically just throw it in a pot and cook and you have a lovely, one-pot comfort food ready to go in about 20 minutes. You can eat this like a stew, as a side dish, or over pasta. Lovely with a fresh grated Parmesan on top. This recipe is vegan without the Parmesan but even better with the Parmesan and still vegetarian, and gluten free.

IMG_5127Served with a nice fresh French Bread.

IMG_3093Over pasta with a sprinkling of Parmesan cheese.

Here’s the recipe in the cookbook. It’s so lovely and colorful in the pot.

photo 3

Digging in…

IMG_5130

Roasted Sweet Potato Coins

The last recipe for this installment is Roasted Sweet Potato Coins. My family really loved these and over the Christmas Holiday these were a healthy version of sweet potatoes to serve rather then the traditional sweet potatoes topped with marshmallows. Kids love to eat these with their fingers. The first time I made this, I couldn’t even get them on the table because my family was digging into them like a bowl of chips. Sliced sweet potatoes, seasoned with brown sugar, salt, cumin, and back pepper and roasted in a bit of olive oil gives these sweet potatoes a nice punch. So easy to make, a family favorite. They are a great side dish, holiday dish or even a snack.

Here’s the recipe in the cookbook. This is one of my favorite cookbooks because of the beautiful photos that accompany every dish.

photo 2As I said before, I’m a cookbook nerd and read them all the way through, mark the pages as I go and then take notes as I try each recipe.

Finished dish, that I could barely get to the table, my family loved them so much.

IMG_3084Hope you enjoyed this second installment of The Cookbook Series with Jessica Seinfeld’s The Can’t Cook Book. I’d say this is worth getting. I’d love to hear your feedback. Next Tuesday I’ll be covering a few more recipes, so come on back and check it out. Have a Tasty Tuesday!

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

