Decadent Delicious 7 Layer Bars/Holiday Food Series

photo 2 copy 2

Decadent Delicious 7 Layer Bars

Oh my friends, what can I say about 7 Layer bars…THEY ARE AWESOME!!! This delicious, ooey, gooey, mouthwatering dessert bursts with the taste of Christmas in every bite. It is the first thing everyone goes to at my Christmas dessert table and the one thing everyone takes home Christmas night. You simply must try this easy, pleasing recipe and be prepared for the big hugs you get from them.

Let me tell you the cute story behind this wonderful treat. When I was a Junior in High School I was on the Gymnastics Team,ย  after a long day at school and a 2 hour practice, one of my teammates mom brought some hot, out of the oven, 7 Layer Bars for all of us. We ate them straight out of the pan. I had never had them before and after one bite I thought I’d died and gone to heaven. At this point in my life I was being raised by my father so although he was a great cook there wasn’t any baking going on. Those warm, melt in your mouth bars felt like my teammates mom was giving me a big hug. I wasn’t use to that sort of special treat and I never forgot it. If I could remember who’s mom that was, I’d try to contact her to let her know how that day affected me in such a special way and has given so many people in my family and my friends a treat they look forward to every Christmas. Sometimes there are these small but defining moments in your life that mold you into the adult you become. This moment was one of those for me. Not having my Mom around as much as I would have liked in High School was tough, my Dad did his best but lets face it, what did he know about being a teenage girl. I was so happy with those 7 Layer Bars and the kindness of that mom, that I knew someday I would pay forward that kindness. I have been “that” mom to my girls and I’m so glad they receive that warm fuzzy feeling of having someone bake them homemade treats. It really does feel like a warm hug when someone takes the the time to bake or cook for you, don’t you think? Now this happened before the internet (way before) so I was on the lookout for the recipe. I didn’t find it until many years later, I’m not even sure how I got it, but I wrote it down on a blue piece of paper, which is now worn and torn from many years of use. Although I could rewrite it and throw out the paper or just find the recipe online, I keep it to remember how important it was to find the recipe and the fond memories of that special day. So to that mom out there…thank you!!!

photoSimple ingredients you can find at any grocery store: butter, crushed graham crackers, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, sweetened flaked coconut, chopped walnuts, sweetened condensed milk. The original recipe called for margarine not butter, but that’s because it was the 70’s and margarine was a big thing. Margarine is gross (just sayin’) so I use butter. To the right of photo is the original recipe on my worn piece of blue paper.

photo 1

Take the stick of butter and rub it around the sides of a 9×11 baking pan, this will help in removing the bars to cut later. I also love Wilton baking pans you can find them at Walmart at a great price. Then take the stick of butter (1/2 cup) and melt in a sauce pan, when melted add the 1 1/2 cups of crushed graham crackers. When I first started making these I would have to crush graham crackers by hand, so much easier with prepared graham crackers.

photo 2

Take warm butter and graham cracker mixture and pat into bottom of pan, spread evenly with your fingers to make a nice crust. Now the layering begins and this is so easy.

photo 4Spread 6 0z or one cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips (or milk chocolate if you prefer) evenly over crust.

photo 1 copy 3

Next spread evenly 6 oz or 1 cup butterscotch chips.

photo 2 copy 3

Do the same with theย  1 1/3 cup flaked coconut and 1/2 cup chopped walnuts.

photo 1 copy

photo 2 copyThe last step is to evenly pour the sweetened condensed milk over all the layers. Take your time with this and really get it nice and even. I use a bottle opener to puncture a whole on opposite ends of the can so it pours nice and slow. I pour horizontally and then vertically to get a nice even covered. It just takes a couple minutes. I’m sure if you just open the can and pour it evenly, that works too.

That’s it. So easy. Now just pop it in the oven at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I actually cook mine for 25 minutes and they come out perfect. So check them at 25 and see what works best with your oven.

photo 4 copyPerfectly baked 7 Layer Bars.

Allow to cool completely before cutting. This makes it much easier, although the first time you make these you might have to cheat and take a bite out of the pan when they’re nice and warm. Oh my gosh nothing like it!

photo 5 copy 2When completely cool (really make sure they are completely cool) take a butter knife and move around the edges to loosen from pan. The bars should easily release from pan. Cut into even squares. These store really nicely and make a great gift.

photo 1 copy 2

7 Layer Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Butter
  • 1 1/2 cup Crushed Graham Crackers
  • 6 oz or 1 cup semi-sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 6 oz or 1 cup Butterscotch Chips
  • 1 1/3 cup Sweetened Flaked Coconut
  • 1/2 cup chopped Walnuts
  • 1 14oz can sweetened condensed milk

Directions:

Butter sides of 9×11 baking dish with stick of butter. Take the remaining butter and melt in a saucepan, add crushed graham crackers and mix together. Layer bottom of pan with graham cracker mixture, pat down evenly with your fingers to make a crust. Layer evenly in this order: chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, flaked coconut and nuts. Spread sweetened condensed milk evenly over entire pan. Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown. Cool completely and cut into squares.

Hope you give these a try. Let me know what you think.

Happy Holidays!!!

All the best,

Joy

One thought on “Decadent Delicious 7 Layer Bars/Holiday Food Series

Leave a Reply

