Sweet, Fun and Easy…Coffee Cake and Cupcakes/Holiday Food Series

photo 3  photo 5

Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake and Candy Cane Cupcakes

I shop at Trader Joe’s at least once a week. It’s my favorite place to buy groceries because their prices are great and they always have something new. Today I tried their Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake Mix and I was not disappointed. Super easy to make and it was a nice treat to start off the weekend. My husband said it was much better then Starbucks which my girls like a lot, but not quite as good as his mom’s homemade coffee cake. I’d say that’s a pretty good review.

I make these easy Candy Cane Cupcakes every Christmas for my dessert table. Nothing fancy just use a box cake mix and ready made frosting, but those candy canes on top just make them something special. This is a great idea if you need to bring a dessert at the last minute over the holiday, they’re super easy, super quick and adorable.

Cinnamon Crumb Coffee Cake

photo 3 copyTrader Joe’s Coffee Cake Mix

photo 4 copyMixed and ready to go in the oven. I followed the directions for the topping in both the middle and the top.

 photo 2 copyFresh out of the oven. Nice and brown on top. I cooked it about 2 minutes less, then the least amount of time indicted on directions and they came out perfect. Smelled so delicious.

photo 1 copyFirst slice. Perfectly cooked. Yum!

photo 5 Turned my back for one minute and my husband had already got a piece for himself.

photo 2Ready to eat.

photo 1

Candy Cane Cupcakes

photo 4 copy 3.JPG  photo 4 copy

photo 1Before I start making the cupcakes. I take a large ziploc bag and fill it with miniature candy canes (I use the mini candy canes because they are easier to unwrap then the large ones). I use a rolling pin to lightly hammer candy canes into small pieces. You could break them up by hand if you want also.

photo 2

Crushed candy canes.

Next I make cupcakes using any box mix. I like to make white cupcakes, but if I’m making a lot I’ll use both a white and chocolate cake mixes. I also use ready made white frosting.

photo 4Make the cupcakes as directed. I like to use a red and white stripped liner but it’s also cute with just solid red. Use any that you like. When cupcakes are cooled, frost generously. Add crushed candy canes on top. The candy canes last for about a day and then the red color starts to run, they still taste fine but don’t look as cute.

photo 2 copy 2

You can use a homemade recipe but this is just a quick dessert and it tastes great and looks so cute.

photo 1 copy 2

photo 4 copy 2

Hope you enjoyed this post. Always nice to have some quick and easy recipes over the holidays.

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

