Trader Joe’s Goodies/Holiday Food Series

photo 1 copy 2

Trader Joe’s Chcolate Chip Scones and Green Bean & Portobello Mushroom Casserole

I have been shopping at Trader Joe’s most of my life. The food is delicious, unique and affordable and they have so many fresh and healthy choices. When I see something new and it’s vegetarian I’ll give it a try. I don’t thing I’ve mentioned this before but I only cook vegetarian and Trader Joe’s always has lots of choices. So this weekend I tried these two new products and they were wonderful and the family loved them.

The first thing we tried was the  CHOCOLATE CHIP SCONE MIX.

photo 5 copyTrader Joe’s Chocolate Scone Mix

Believe it or not you just add water, mix with a fork and bake.

photo 2 copy 2

 They were warm and delicious right out of the oven. In England scone’s are served at 4:00pm with butter, jam and tea. We had them for breakfast and ate them plain, and they were great. Scones can be a bit dry but these weren’t, and the chocolate chips added just the right amount of sweet.

photo 3 copyFor a quick breakfast, brunch or late afternoon snack, these are great for holiday guests.

Next we tried the recipe for GREEN BEAN AND PORTOBELLO MUSHROOM CASSEROLE that is on the back of the Gourmet Fried Onion Pieces container. This was such a nice change from the classic version of Green Bean Casserole. The fresh mushrooms, onions and shredded cheese really gave it a gourmet flair and it smelled so good sauteing in the pan. This is a wonderful idea for Christmas especially if you served the classic Green Bean Casserole dish at Thanksgiving.

photo 4 copyRecipe and all ingredients are on the back of the can. I used fresh green beans and mushrooms, also I used shredded Swiss and Gruyere cheese blend but the recipe called just for Swiss. I would recommend the cheese blend I used. All ingredients can be found at Trader Joe’s.

 photo 2Ready to go in the oven.

photo 4Freshly out of the oven. Nicely melted cheese with the fried onion pieces nice and toasted. Delicious.

photo 1 copy

I served it with Mash Potatoes and Corn for the vegetarians. The meat eaters had it with Roasted Chicken also. It was a big hit. Really nice flavor, definitely a nice change on an old favorite for the holidays.

Let me know what you think.

All the best,

Joy

Leave a Reply

